rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















I forgot the green
March 17, 2006, 4:15 P.M.

Whoops--forgot it was St. Patrick's Day. No green. Feel free to pinch me.



Strange thing--several mornings lately, always at 3:52, my telephone has rung just once. WTF? Like I don't have enough trouble sleeping at that hour. Maybe I'll just start taking it off the hook when I go to bed. I hate to do that, but I can't deal with getting awakened at a point where it's impossible for me to get back to sleep. I don't get enough sleep as it is.


The more I learn about my new job responsibilities, the more I hate it--Part 2

A couple of entries ago, I mentioned the whole document writing thing and how I couldn't sweat blood for a living. The truth is really a bit more to the point: I can shit it for you, but you have to feed me first. If I had any data from which to work, the task would be a fuck of a lot easier. But I don't, and I have zero chance of getting any. So there you go.

But creating these documents is only a piece of what the new position entails. For in addition to sweating blood in a creative process...

I will also be responsible for a large number of rigidly defined, repetitive, mindless-yet-no room for error, soul-killingly boring tasks. Which have to be documented to a nauseating degree. Forms, files, phone calls, reports--the kind of thing that will have me gnawing open a wrist vein within a week.



Somewhere, in that endless phone call last Saturday, I found out that my mom needs a certain Avon product, but doesn't have a rep. So, for her birthday gift, I went to Avon's online site and ordered her two. Since this is a very unexotic item (foot cream), I also ordered her a little set of spring-timey, lilac-scented, pastel votive candles so she gets something pretty. I'm having the order shipped directly to her, and had them enclose a note.

So, for her birthday, Mom is getting several things she likes: remembered, a package in the mail, her favorite foot cream, and candles. I hope she's pleased. Because I am! Knocking out mom's birthday gift is usually a tough one, and I'm glad to have it done.



I took Spouse out to lunch today, by way of a celebration of the fact that he's got some interviews lined up. We went to The Charcoal Grill, and I was delighted to find they had corned beef specials for St. Patrick's day. I had mine in a germanized form--a really good reuben sandwich. Loads of tender brisket, mild kraut, and a creamy swiss on marble rye. Yum! Spouse had a steak sandwich, as cabbage, boiled or pickled, is not his thing.

Considering the state of affairs at his employer, he really needs to find something--and soon. That place is circling the drain in a big way. The uniform company has stopped coming, they've been closing down shifts early because they ran out of materials, and when they do get supplies, they have to hand off a certified check on delivery. This does not bode well for the future of the company.

But he has been sending out dozens of resumes, and has his name in with a placement firm that specializes in mechanics and electricians. So we're keeping the faith.



Tomorrow, I've got to get up early and start cleaning around here--I've got Niece coming to stay the night. She and I will be taking in that Amanda Bynes movie she wants to see, and just hanging out together. We'll probably go to breakfast on Sunday morning before we take her home. As tired and down as I am, I'm really finding that I need some time with my favorite folks to help me feel better. I asked if Nephew wanted to come too, but he's got plans of his own. Which is fine with Niece--she'd prefer not to share her uncle and me.

And since I've got that going on tomorrow, and tonight is my late night, I think I'm going to get this posted and lay down for a nice long nap.






Reading: "Amanda/Miranda", by Richard Peck.


Listening: XM, "Squizz". Marilyn Manson, Breaking Benjamin, Revery.


Beading: More phone charms.


One Year Ago, I remembered the green.

At Random: click here



|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com