rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















back on track and promptly off again
Thursday, Mar. 17, 2005, 8:19 PM

Well. That plateau I've been sitting on for the last month or so?

I seem to have fallen off. To the tune of about 3.5 pounds.

So that's one good thing about stress!



Honestly, though, this week damn near killed me. I've been going non-stop from 4:55 in the morning to 10:00 at night. Every little thing conspires to keep it from going smoothly, too.

Visitors, both expected (THGFH) and unexpected (my Ex-SIL and Nephew last night) unexpected expenses (nephew wanted 32 dollars for pizzas and cookie dough, and I had to buy a new pot for the coffeemaker, because THGFH broke mine, etc.) have accumulated to where I feel like all I do is work, and all I am is broke.

I was so tired when I got up today, it wasn't till I was almost out the door that I realized I wasn't wearing any green, and had to go back and change.



Tonight was a welcome change, as Papa and I went out for corned beef and cabbage. We went to a new place in town--a seafood place, actually--but they had advertised CB&C for tonight, so we thought we'd try it. This was like gourmet CB&C, if you can get your mind around the concept. WOW!

Papa and I had drinks, shrimp cocktail, salads, huge plates of fantastic corned beef, served with cabbage, red potatoes, and carrots, and we finished with coffee and dessert. I had strawberry cheesecake, Papa had a mocha torte--for $54.20. Nice atmosphere and superb service, as well. I believe I'll be eating there again soon.

But so much for the three and a half pounds, eh?



GYM REPORT:

30 minutes

1.67 miles

210 calories

255.5 weight, for 44.5 pounds lost. (That's net loss. Some of those pounds, I had to lose twice.)



In the "Local Happenings" department, I should mention that some guy plowed his car over an embankment, down a hill, through a wrought-iron fence, and into a daycare center near here yesterday. Under the sub-head of "Miracles", the only injuries sustained were the driver's fatal ones. The center had the classrooms on the second floor, and he plowed into an empty gym. A friend of mine has a 4-year-old who goes there, so she was pretty shaken up--as were we all when we heard.


Well, I'm actually trying to get some real, genuine, actual beading in (see below), so I'm keeping this short. Just not enough hours in the day to give all the time I want to all the things I want. Well, not if I'm going to earn a living, anyway.




Reading: "The Best American Mystery Stories 2001", edited by Lawrence Block and Otto Penzler. They may be the best something, but as mysteries? They suck.


Listening: XM Satellite Radio, "70's on 7"


Beading: Strung necklace of freshwater pearls, carved cylinders and rounds of coral, and gold spacers. Earrings to match.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com