rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















back to work
February 15, 2006, 6:12 P.M.

I managed to bake Spouse his butter spritz cookies for Valentine's Day. I used the heart and the flower discs (Ha-ha. Hearts and flowers, get it? I kill me.)and sprinkled them with red and pink sugars.

I even withstood sitting in the computer chair to make him a card to go with them. I left them on the dining room table for him last night, to surprise him when he got home from work at 11:45. He may not observe Valentine's Day, but I certainly do.

He seemed to be appreciative when I talked to him this afternoon--we couldn't talk long, as I was due at a meeting when he called. But I think he kind of liked that I didn't blow it off, even though I had good reasons to do just that.



Anyway, I am doing better, although I'm still awfully slow. I fought my way through showering and dressing and driving this morning, to get to work. Dressing was the hardest. I thought I was going to have to wake up Spouse and have him put my socks on me.

Loooonngg day! I took a large reference book and used it as a prop so I could keep my leg raised up, and I kind of tried to alternate sitting, standing, and walking, so I didn't get too stiff. But it's definitely time to get back to the moist heat and the ice pack. My whole body aches at this point.



All I know is; the result I got when I weighed in today had better be fucking edema from the injury. There's no FREAKING way I gained 6.5 pounds this week! Damn, if could I just get back on the treadmill, I know I'd feel better about myself.

Speaking of that, Spouse and I went out to dinner early Saturday night, and after we ate, we experienced a fit of spontaneous shopping. We ended up at the outlet mall, looking for Nikes.

I had headed straight to the men's size eights, because hey--that's what size I am. I found a couple of pairs that were just barely clearing the bar of acceptability, but I wasn't thrilled. On the off chance, I looked in the women's section. And I actually found a pair! Cute, comfy, size 9.5 wide, white leather. "Womens Walker A.S. III". For $39.99, yet. I checked some online retailers and found this shoe running from 49.99 to 61.80, so I think I did okay. My favorite thing about them is the stability rating--it is defined as "cushy ride". I love me a cushy ride. Well, that and the fact that they are actual WOMEN'S shoes!

Of course, I haven't been able to USE them, as I went out early the following morning and did the falldowngoboom thing. Argh. I'm actually jonesing for exercise at this point. Forced inactivity make me nutso.

Come to think of it, forced anything makes me nutso.



The "I watch too many DVDs of British TV shows*" Awards:
Most Delightful Guest Appearance in a Rumpole Episode: Peter Sallis as a verbose religious nut on trial for manslaughter of his virago wife, in "Rumpole On Trial". All that going on in the "Wallace" voice just laid me out.

Most Delightful Guest Appearance in a Tommy and Tuppence Episode: Peter Blythe, who played Rumpole's priggish, stuff-shirt Head of Chambers Sam Ballard (or Soapy Sam Bollard, as Rumpole called him). Playing one-third of a love triangle!

Second Most Delightful Guest Appearance in a Tommy and Tuppence Episode: a young and positively dewey Charles Shaughnessy. Before playing Maxwell Sheffield on "The Nanny", before Shane Donavan on "Days of Our Lives", and even before he was Alistair Durban on "General Hospital", he was John Rennie in "The Affair of the Pink Pearl".

*They may happen to be British TV shows, but for me, they were all episodes of "Mystery!", on PBS. I was a slave to that show.




Reading: "Do Not Exceed The Stated Dose", by Peter Lovesey.

Listening:XM Radio, "On Broadway". "The Real Love of My Life", from Brigadoon, and Walter Huston singing Kurt Weill's "September Song" from Knickerbocker Holiday--two old favorites I haven't heard in years and years! Plus "Broadway Baby", the Side by Side by Sondheim version.

One Year Ago, I was sick, so I didn't post.

At Random: click here
|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com