rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















no soup for you
January 19, 2006, 6:39 P.M.

Due to a few unfortunate incidents this week, I've proven to myself that I cannot be trusted with real food. Basically, I have this problem with stopping.

I'm apparently incapable.

And I've found that the only way to handle it when I'm incapable of stopping is to not start. So I am going to have to restrict myself to the most stringent version of my diet, which is the following:



80-100 ounces water per day

coffee for breakfast

mid-morning piece of fruit

Body For Life bar as lunch

afternoon piece of fruit

packaged "diet" meal for dinner

The low calorie intake of this plan is certainly a help to weight loss, but the real reason for this strict menu is simple. It is as close as I can come to giving up what I'm addicted to. Nutrition bars and frozen entrees are not real food to me. They are the nutrition delivery systems that enable me to stay alive when I'm on the wagon. Until I regain some control, that's the program.

And on a positive note, I took advantage of the sunny 50° weather today, and went for a walk around the grounds on my lunch hour. And taking further advantage of the mild temps, I got more exercise when I got home from work. Jumping out of the business casual and into the workout serious (sweats), I grabbed the leash and gave Miss Creant some fun. We walked about three quarters of a mile or so, and it evidently suited Miss Take right down to the ground. I was rewarded by much snuggle love, and she even bestowed upon me one of her extremely rare "kisses"!

Got some light therapy and some exercise today, and that has to be good for business.



Spouse went to see his doctor this morning, and the doc agreed with me that my poor honey is somewhat depressed--and apparently anxious as well.

Long story short, Spouse is starting on Zoloft. I am hoping for, but not necesarily expecting, a good result. The thing with Spouse, though, is the placebo effect works great on him. Just the thought that he's taking action, and doing something to change the way he feels, and has someone/something helping him, is enough to give him an improvement. I noticed how much better he was doing almost as soon as he made the appointment.

So we'll see how it goes. I'm hoping it makes a positive difference for him.



Beading is being so tiresome right now. I can't seem to get the knack of the pattern I'm doing, and it is getting to be an absolute chore. I have another, simpler pattern for a bracelet that I may try, using faceted round beads and #11 seeds.


I'm trying to live up to the promotion at work; today I figured out a simple way to save my department over eight grand a year. My boss wasn't in, but I talked to ExBoss about it, and he seemed to think it was a viable plan. He told me to write up a proposal and give present it when my boss comes back. We'll have to see how it goes, but there may even be a small bounty in it for me if the company goes for it. Or maybe the savings could fund an equipment upgrade--now there's a thought. I'll have to bring that up in my proposal. New laptops all around, bartender!



Reading: �N or M?�, by Agatha Christie.

Listening: CD, soundtrack of "The Commitments". Interestingly, The Commitments are touring this year, and will be playing in Skokie in March. But the only members of the movie band that are in the real band are the drummer and the guitarist. Still, they are a very well thought-of soul band, so I may see about getting tickets if I can get anyone interested in going with me.

Beading: Sometimes, when it isn't going right, you just have to walk away for a while. This damn Crystal Wheel thing has an intermediate rating, but it sure seems v. advanced to me! Time to pick a new project.

One Year Ago, I had a real pounder.

At Random: click here


|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com