rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















coffee break
January 20, 2006, 5:16 P.M.

Well, the weather is turning on us. Cold, windy, sleet-turning-to-snow, and a possible 3-6 inches accumulation predicted.

After work today, I took my sweetie out to lunch, then saw him off to work. I shucked out of the work clothes and into my Wisconsin slob ensemble--sweats, sneakers, and a GB Packers parka--and dashed out to get my errands done before the bad weather hit. I didn't have anywhere exciting to go, though. Gas station, drugstore, and supermarket. Didn't take long.

And I even managed a stop at the library, to gather some new reading material. I got "Tony and Me", Jack Klugman's memoir about his friendship with Tony Randall (which comes with a DVD gag reel of Odd Couple Outtakes!), a non-fic about NYPD's cold case squad, a book about the secondhand subculture in America, and a book called "The Triple Whammy Cure". Sounds like it's trying to cure "Modern Women's Disease", but since I have that, hey--let's give it a shot. It's a good feeling to have some books around I haven't read before. I always have something to read, but I love that anticipatory feeling of fresh books in the house.

I am, however, milkless. When did they start making the plastic milk jugs so darn thin? I opened the car door to bring in the groceries, and my 1% took a header into the driveway, and somehow managed to get a pinhole leak that caused milk to squirt all over the car, driveway, and me. Damn. Even when I make it home with all my groceries, I don't make it home with all my groceries.

Now I'm home and hunkering down as the sleet taps the windows, enjoying a cup of Sumatran Mandheling and a little web time.

Not a lot of web time, though. I have a list of stuff I would like to get done around the house. If I can get a lot of little houseworky shit done tonight, it�s that much I don't have to do tomorrow.




Reading: �Postern of Fate�, by Agatha Christie. More of the Beresfords.

Listening: CD, soundtrack of "The Commitments". Still listening to this, but now with an emphasis on "Mustang Sally", and "In the Midnight Hour". RIP Wilson Pickett.

Beading: Bracelet. Criss-Cross variation, using faceted clear glass rounds, and multicolored pastel pearl seed beads.

One Year Ago, I was on a roll.

At Random: click here


|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com