rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















And now for the bad news
January 04, 2006,

Yesterday, I got my promotion. And a little under 24 hours to enjoy it, before they pulled the rug out from under me.

This morning, four good, decent, and competent people got the chop. People with whom I work closely, and of whom I am very fond. The whole thing was cheap and shabby and disgusting.

I�m feeling a lot of things right now. Anger, sorrow, sympathy, concern. And relief, too (it�s not me�this time).

I�m lot sure I can really articulate it, yet.



Spouse seems sicker than ever, with what sounds like a nasty upper respiratory infection to me. So I called and made him a Dr. appointment for tomorrow. Well, a PA appointment, anyway. I�m hoping that it might expedite his paperwork for mail order drugs, too. My insurance company is making us go through mail-order for long-term prescriptions now, so we have to get it set up. As usual, his Doc�s office is being assish about it.


I had a nice talk with an old friend today. (Ex-wife of the old friend I got to see on the 29th at the lodge, in fact.) We did some catching up, and I guess she�s working on her third divorce. This one turned out to be a hitter. They�ve all been addicts of one type or another. She�s one of those �must�not�ever�be�alone�� types, and I�m just hoping that she finally realizes she doesn�t need to have a guy whatever the cost. Sometimes the price is just too high. But she seems to be doing well, and I�m glad for that.



Reading: �The Veiled One�, by Ruth Rendell

Listening: XM, 70s on 7. Abba, KC & The Sunshine Band, and a little Smoky Robinson for depth.

Beading: The dark amber carnival DNA spiral lariat necklace is now complete (what a mouthful!). I finished beading the slide for it, and in fact, I have it on today.

One Year Ago, I wrote a book report.

At Random: click here


|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com