rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















why do these have to be titled again?
Thursday, Jun. 30, 2005, 8:53 PM

I woke up tired, to a dreary morning. Fortunately, the rain waited until five minutes after Raji completed a nice long walk. Unfortunately, it was only a disappointing sprinkle. With the drought we�re having at the moment, we could use about three solid weeks of daily deluge.

Won't get it, though--they weather had improved by mid-morning, amd the current forecast isn't calling for any rain till Sunday at the earliest. Of course, for Sunday and Monday--the days we planned to be outside--they're saying chance of T-storms.



I have a four-day weekend for the Fourth, but with the demands of work, I really wish I could come in anyway�just to get some stuff accomplished. Even though I also desperately need the rest. Which I probably won�t get anyway.

Well, I guess that pretty much defines the concept of �too busy�, eh?



And I got my period today, which is
A. sucky, because hey, just in time for the holiday weekend! and
B. not sucky, because it waited the whole 27 days this time, and because it will be out of the way by the 11th (surgery day).

Speaking of surgery day, I got a message from pre-admit testing saying to call, but what a pain to try and get hold of them when calling back. I cut my lunch break short to try and reach them, but apparently they don�t man the phones at lunchtime. I didn�t bother to leave a message, because I really didn�t have time for phone tag today. But I didn�t really have time to keep trying again, either. SO I finally left a message at about 2:15, and went to a nearby desk to work. Took along my afternoon apple.

Yeah, no sooner did I sit down and take a big old bite�they called back.

Anyhow�I have to go in for tests the afternoon of the eighth, with the anesthesiologist. No big whoop. The actual process probably requires less fuss than the scheduling of it.



I had to stop and get Spouse a pizza to replace the one he DIDN'T get to eat last night (he dropped it when taking it out of the oven, and it landed "jelly side down" on the kitchen floor.), so I just got one for me, too. I confess that this has been a week off, diet-wise, but I refuse to feel guilty about it.
Guilt isn't what fuels me. A sense that I actually have a choice does. And this week, I choose food.
Which is why I also picked up a couple of Dove Dark candy bars. The pure skag of the chocoholic.


Tonight, I'm just puttering around. I watered the flowers, and put some laundry in. I'm a little bored, but not enogh to do anything about it. Just enjoying the prospect of a four-day weekend spreading out before me.



Reading: "Fifty Best Mysteries", edited by Eleanor Sullivan.
Also: �Murder at Hobcaw Barony� By Elliott Roosevelt.

Listening: XM Radio, �Hank�s Place�. The music of my childhood�Honky-Tonk. A sort of musical comfort food to soothe my heart.

Beading: Sorting through my bead box in preparation for doing the �Green Goddess� choker from the current issue of Beadwork. But I probably won�t actually do it in green. Also, a co-worker with a very tiny 5-year-old daughter needs a very tiny anklet, so I'll probably have to come up with something there.


One Year Ago, I was sweating.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com