rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















happy really truly in my heart of hearts anniversary
Wednesday, Jun. 08, 2005, 7:28 PM

Heh. 20 years later, and I still think of June 8th as the day I was SUPPOSED to get married.

Long story, or maybe just a boring one. When Spouse and I decided to become engaged, we had only known each other about three months. So we wanted a nice, long engagement. So we picked a date about 18 months out--June 8, 1985. This was our wedding date...everyone knew it...plenty of notice for all involved...

In mid-April of 1985, my sister-in-law informed me that she--a member of the wedding party, and my brother (MY brother, people!) would not be able to come if the wedding was on June 8th.

Y'see, her hillbilly brother was getting married on that day, in Colorado. And since he done knocked up his bride, and it were one o' them thar "shotgun hitchin's"...he wasn't about to change it.

(Honestly--I really love this particular sis-in-law, but oh, her redneck kinfolk still make me nuts.)

So I had to change my wedding date--2 months before the wedding. I chose the following weekend (June 15th) and made my grandparents feel happy and honored that I chose to marry on their anniversary.

My mom and I pulled it together and made it happen on the new date. No harm, no foul, and thank goodness I am a procrastinator who hadn't gotten in a bunch of early orders and reservations.

But ever since, every June 8th, I think Hey--this should have been my anniversary.



I actually had a mostly pretty good day at work today. Pure testing is still a hell of a lot of fun. And even more so when you can share it with someone who loves the thrill of the chase as much as you do. I just wish I got to do it more often. The morning went by quickly, and I hit the gym at lunch filled with enthusiasm for a change, instead of a rage needing to be worked off.


THIS IS WHERE I GOT ALL PISSED OFF ABOUT A BUNCH OF STUFF AND WROTE A LONG SCREED THAT I ENDED UP DELETING.


So, uh, yeah. Day kinda deteriorated after lunch. But I came home and watered the flowers, did up all the dirty dishes, and washed a couple loads of laundry.

And wrote this. To quote Dilbert's PHB today: "Now I am writing in my journal. I am still writing in my journal. Now I am writing about writing in my journal."



GYM REPORT:
34.00 minutes
1.89 miles
250 calories

Amazed myself.




Reading: �The Forensic Casebook : The Science of Crime Scene Investigation" by Ngaire E. Genge�. But I don't recommend it. Anyone who is interested on these things on a level deeper than watching those deplorable CSI series on TV will find this book shallow, unfocused, and at times, just plain inaccurate.

Listening: XM, "Fred". Motels, Police, Clash...sounds like an episode of COPS, doesn't it?

Beading: Bracelet in peachy-pink and crystal firepolish, with pearlescent peach seed beads, and Swarovski crystal bicone accents.



One Year Ago.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com