rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















the sacrifices I make for my health
Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005, 10:26 AM

They better find my innards tied in a big Christmas bow on Monday, that's all I'm saying.

As much as I am hoping that the colonoscopy reveals nothing serious, there had better be some significant outcome, if I'm giving up a pig roast for the damn thing.

I have to miss out on a terrific party tomorrow, because it�s �fast and flush� day. And my very favorite special treat food in the universe, roast pig.

I hate Dr. Mario.



Yesterday�s brief entry, and the absence of one on Thursday, are due to my ongoing pain issues, and the condition of my hands. All prostoglandins and no Aleve make whyme a very miserable girl.

I can�t explain it well; it is sort of like having a bad menstrual cramp--in your entire body. Headaches, bodyaches, abdominal cramping, gastro-intestinal issues, bloating, a fuzzy-headed feeling, mood-swings with a hair-trigger temper, and a lack of self-control. And, of course, dear old Aunt Flo.

All these things combine to create a comprehensive feeling of misery that is overwhelming at times. I always said if you were to find I had committed suicide, it would turn out to be in the first three days of my period.

But enough about my health problems. I could be in worse shape. I just keep saying to myself: �You have a strong and healthy heart, you eat well and exercise regularly, your blood pressure and cholesterol are very good, and you have all your faculties. You are losing weight, and taking better care of yourself. Quit bitching about what�s wrong for a minute, and be thankful for what�s right!�



I was going to post yet another rant about work, but I can�t drum up enough interest in the whole situation to bother. It is a lovely Saturday morning, and I�m really not disposed to dwell on my Monday-Friday life.

Suffice it to say that one particular co-worker is hanging herself by her persistent inability to buckle down and do her job, and I am, as always, worried that her poor performance reflects badly on the rest of the team.
But I am giving her every possible opportunity to do well, and once she finally succeeds in her self-defeat, I shall have nothing with which to reproach myself.



As truly icky as I felt, I stayed up and made Spouse a nice dinner last night, and he seemed to enjoy it. Roasted chicken breasts, stuffing, mashed potatoes and gravy, with peas and carrots as a veggie. Very 1950�s--just how he likes it. And as much as he likes the food when I make him a Friday night dinner, I think what he really appreciates is the effort and attention on my part--to him, that�s love, baby. And since I do love him, it isn�t so bad, I guess. He was quite appreciative, and that makes it easier, too.


Some Current Events: Leon Askin, who is best known in America for having played General Burkhalter on "Hogan's Heroes", died yesterday in Austria. He was 97.

The UPS driver who they busted for stealing goods worth at least a million dollars from his own truck, and selling the stuff on e-bay? Yep, one of K-town's own fine citizens. Buncha Savages in this town...

You know, for 30 years I admired "Deep Throat". Now that I know it was Mark Felt, that image is soiled by the knowledge that he was the biggest covert break-in asshat of all.


As for today, I�m feeling a bit better, and need to get my tushie in gear and get some work done around here. I believe I�ll begin with the kitchen, which is a shambles from last night�s dinner, and do some laundry, clean the bathroom, vacuum, dust, and tidy, before heading outside to get some sweeping done. My neighbor went nuts with the weedwhacker, and left one hell of a mess all along the side of my house. In addition to looking awful, it�s all getting tracked in here through the back (side) door. Some people have no consideration.

Actually, since it�s supposed to be hot and humid later--maybe I should just start there.




Reading: �Murder on Route 66�, edited by Carolyn Wheat. This short story anthology contains 16 tales that vary in time but all take place at various stops along America's first federal highway. The authors include John Lutz, D.R. Meredith, and Barbara D'Amato. Each contributing author lives or has lived in towns along Route 66. A very good read, and I recommend it to fans of the mystery short story.

Listening: Dish Network CD channel, �Blues".

Beading: On hold due to pain.


One Year Ago.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com