rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















oh god, it's friday
2004-06-04, 2:18 p.m.

Well, I have had a trying day, so far, and it it's only just after 2:00pm. I awoke exhausted due to the impressive IBS flare-up of last night. Drained in more ways than one, I assure you. But I got up and went to work anyway, because life has a gun to my head.

I finally got my test PC back yesterday at going home time, and I spent the entire 4.5 work hours today trying to get shit to work on it. Damn the excrescence that is XP!! And damn the excrescence that is IT while you're at it. It took 5 IT morons from 7 to 11 am to just to get my internet connection back. Everything else will have to wait till Monday. I wrote up a report of about 25 separate apps, registrations, and DLLs that need to be restored. Hey--I'm a tester. I'm guaranteed to tell ya what's wrong with it.

Well then--from work, we go straight to the Chrysler dealer and try for the third time (second service department) to get the squeal fixed. Again--cannot duplicate problem. Bring back when it occurs.

Well, it occurs at six in the fuckin' morning, asshat. You don't even swing the doors up till seven, and by that time I'm down the highway. I could bring it in Saturday, maybe--oh, wait. that's right--you don't work on Saturdays! Sheesh. So I sat for an hour, talked to DF, told him how to get rid of all the shit on his PC, got the retro-rocket washed, and it was free. So wtf, I guess. I'll get it dealt with the week I'm off.

So I run over to the ghetto-mart and buy a two dollar watch (to get me by till I can get a nine dollar watch). Well, the instructions for setting it are for an entirely different watch, but it really doesn't matter because three of the four buttons on it are non-functioning anyway. I know, whattaya expect for two bucks...but very trying, nonetheless. The practically bulletproof blister-pack it came in was a thousand times better-made than the friggin' watch. How sick is that?

Home held no sweet release, either. 2 days in a row, there is a flyer from some stupid low-rent college hanging on my front door. Two days in a row my dog is batshit looney and has messed on the carpet. Coinkydink? I want to put a sign out front telling them to get off my property and shove their craptacular school up their asses.

Spouse wants to go to the club and knock some back tonight, and my spirit wants to do the same. But after last night's horrors, I don't think I'm really physically up to it. We'll see.

I'm beat and I want a smoke. Ta for now.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com