rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















good fences make good neighbors. I hope.
Friday, May. 27, 2005, 9:18 PM

Paid the price for eating all that muck last night, and felt squidgy and miserable all morning. But recovered in time to have a couple of pieces of delicious, wood-oven baked veggie pizza for lunch. The Charcoal Grill is becoming a Friday habit, I think. For supper tonight I kept it simple--a bowl of "Balance With Berries", which I think is the Malt-o-Meal brand knock-off of Special K Red Berries. I only like one cold cereal, and that is it.



Found a couple of bugs in the project at work, which always puts me in a good mood, so I was more easily able to put up with the usual BS. But I still don't like her.


I ran some errands this afternoon; hit the drugstore for life's little necessities (Prilosec, Claritin-D, and nylons.)I love to poke around the drugstore and buy stupid crap, but nothing really caught my eye today. I guess I just wasn't in the mood. I did get some cute greeting cards for Father's Day, Papa's birthday, and our anniversary, though.

After that, I went to the library, where I was pleasantly surprised to find they now have carrier baskets for the books. Much nicer than lugging the heavy,awkward piles around in your arms. Now, if they would just get some decent BOOKS in, it would be great! I grabbed some old favorites, and a bunch of paperback mysteries. Light reading for summer.



I remembered to swing by W and T's place and take in their mail. Sheesh! those women get a lot of packages. No wonder they wanted me to do the occasional sweep of the porch while they are gone. I don't mind doing it, but one thing does bug me. For people who are constantly poor-mouthing,they sure buy a lot of mail-order stuff.


I had to run to the grocery store, because hubby dear requested meatloaf, mashed potatoes, peas, and jello for dinner tonight. (Can you say "blue-plate special"?) So it looks like I'm doing the midnight cooking thing tonight. I assembled the meatloaf earlier, so it isn't so bad. I know he enjoys it when I take the trouble to stay up and cook for him on Fridays, so I don't mind it so much. But it makes me so damn grouchy the next day! I'm an early in, early out girl when it comes to bed, and even if I manage to stay up once in a while, my internal clock will still knock me out of the sack at the crack of dawn. Or Raji will. Anyway, I hope he won't take offense if I decline to join him. No way could I get any sleep on a bellyful like that. Urp.


As of this afternoon, Spouse still had no idea of what his work schedule is for this weekend, so we didn't really make any plans, other than to get out household shopping done. That we have to accomplish, because we are overdue, and running out of all kinds of things. Spouse also needs to do the yard work, and I will probably get my car detailed, before it gets condemned by the health department as a tenement on wheels.


Did I mention that the baby-mama who moved in next door put up a fence, while we were gone last weekend? Raji thinks it sucks, as it blocks the view of the neighborhood from HER window. But I kind of like it. it is a tall, tight privacy fence, and makes our backyard feel much more cozy and well--private. And it keeps her pack of offspring out of my yard.


I found a new shade of nail polish (at the supermarket, of all places)that I want to change over to this weekend, but it takes so long for them to dry properly, who has the time? The color is called "California Dream", and it's a deep mauve, with a bit of a shimmer in it. I'm hoping it looks as good on as it does in the bottle. If not, no biggie. I didn't pay a lot for it. I find that if I use my good basecoat and topcoat, I can stick any cheap color in the middle and it wears just fine.



Reading:
Sinclair Lewis, "Dodsworth"
John Hawkesworth, "Upstairs,Downstairs"

Listening: CD--"Little Shop of Horrors". Well, you know the kind of eats, the kind of red-hot treats, the kind of sticky-licky sweets I crave...

Beading: Watchband in peachy-pink and crystal firepolish, with pearlescent peach seed beads Swarovski crystal bicone accents.


One Year Ago...

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com