rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















icerdo sucio!
Tuesday, May. 17, 2005, 8:11 PM

It's my own damn lazy-ass fault, because I cannot be bothered to lock my desk each day before I go home.

But it still burns my biscuits that the janitorial staff where I work treats my desk like the snack bar. I thought I was losing my freaking mind last week when I came up short for the week on nutrition bars. But I started this week with a 6-bar box, and should have had five left today. Nope--only four.

So I took them out of the drawer and locked them in the pen tray of my desk. Then I printed up a sign in 26-point Arial Black, in English and Spanish. Reading:"Stop stealing my nutrition bars! Dirty pig!". I put it in the drawer where the bars used to be, and left it unlocked.

The epithet, I chose for its ease of translation. While "sombrero del asno" may have a certain ring to it, it wouldn't convey exactly the insult I have in mind.

I was considering a mousetrap, but the way the world works nowadays, I would probably end up losing a lawsuit over it. Not worth it.

Yeah, it is passive-aggressive and bitchy and petty and evil, but fuck it--it makes me feel better, and the only other person who will possibly see it is a fucking asshat thief.



I'm so busy today I'm ready to drop. I had so many little stupid things I needed to get done tonight, I had to make out a list. If I didn't, I know I'd forget at least half of them. Stupid stuff, like: dig out my black heels, refill the pill bottle in my purse, make sure I put my medical records in my purse for tomorrow's visit to the hand surgeon, go on Mapquest and get directions to my niece's grad party, try on my old swimsuit to make sure it fit (I'm able to get in my old favorite from back in 2000!)--that sort of stuff.

In addition to going to the store and then making Spouse dinner, cleaning up the kitchen, setting up my coffee pot and clothes for tomorrow, walking the dog, filling my car up, and putting the week's trash on the curb.

So yeah, I needed a list. I don't usually have to grapple with the dinner part, but Spouse called me at work and boo-hooed about having to figure out some kind of "junk" for dinner tonight. So, having had my buttons pushed, I offered to make him a real meal.

My payback is that I made him a salad AND a huge serving of steamed mixed veggies, and I expect him to eat them. Along with BBQ pork chops and rice pilaf, with Jello for dessert, of course, but still. I do tend to seize any opportunity to get vegetables down him.



GYM REPORT:

32 minutes
1.88 miles
245 calories

But lordy, how it wipes me out.

Not bad. Kind of makes up for my Lifesavers binge this morning. It was a mistake to pick the wild berry mix. I should get the kind I only sort of like, instead of the kind I love. I just can't keep my hand out of the candy jar!




Reading: The annual re-read of Jane Austen. "Pride and Prejudice".

XM--a little of this, a little of that.

Beading: Too busy at the moment.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com