rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















mood level: hulk smash
Monday, May. 09, 2005, 6:27 PM

Crush. Kill. Destroy.

I'm in a generally poisonous bad mood, due to a recent development in my life. Namely, I seem to be getting my period every three weeks instead of every four. Once I did the math and realized that this extrapolates to 17.33 periods per year, the hideousness of that thought almost pushed me in front of a bus.

I cannot face this.



I finally dyed my hair yesterday morning, and the color came out where I wanted it, but the grey near my face didn't cover particularly well, and that was disappointing. Still, it is more my "real" color, so I feel more myself than I did with the redder shades.

Mouse brown--that's me.



Weekend: Friday afternoon I went to lunch with Spouse, came home and vegged around the house, feeling depressed. Did three loads of laundry. Cleaned up the kitchen.

Saturday, got up, took dog to vet (see below), stopped at the bank on the way home because Raji loves the drive-thru (they send her Milkbones in the tube), took her home, and then went out for my own running around. Hobby Lobby (see below), Petco to get "puppy crack" and pig ears--both are ridiculously expensive there, btw. The bead store for four more Swars for the bracelet. Home, puttered around, avoiding most of the housework, ripped out beading for starting over, until Spouse came home. Then we went to the Harley dealer so he could get riding gloves, and a touch-up stick. And where I bought him a "tank bra" to protect his gas tank from the belt-buckle induced scratching that made him require a touch-up stick.

Then we went and did the weekly grocery shopping, before returning home to make dinner--salad, steak, fresh sweet corn, twice-baked potatoes, and garlic toast. Spouse commented while dinner was cooking that he really hoped JR's friend wouldn't punk on taking JR and his mom to the airport Sunday morning, because Spouse was exhausted and didn't want to get stuck doing it.

JR called while we were eating to ask for a ride to the airport.

Sunday. Spouse got up at 4 o'clock to pick up his mom and brother for the trip to the airport. As usual in these situations, JR was not even packed, and wandering aimlessly around with various articles of clothing. Once Spouse got the fire lit under him, and herded them out the door, they were off to O'Hare (I was blissfully asleep in my bed at the time, thanks gott.) He got them to their flight, and then faced the grueling task of working his way back out of the airport through snarled traffic and road construction. Sometime in there, I got up and took the dog out, then colored my hair. He didn't get home till almost eight, and once he did, all he wanted was food and his bed.

He ended up sleeping till about 11:30. While he napped, I was limited in what I could do around the house without waking him, but once he was up, I picked up and vacuumed and did dishes and cleaned the bathroom.

After the yard work, he showered and changed, and decided to ride his motorcycle for a while, so I took advantage of the opportunity and got myself cleaned up and dressed. When he came home from his ride, we grabbed a bite of lunch at the Italian deli, and went to the garden center to pick out a rosebush. Henry Fonda, a hybrid tea with vivid yellow blooms.

And when I got home, I realized I'd gotten my period. again.

Spouse made Filipino barbeque last night for dinner, with basmati rice and steamed carrots. Very nice meal.
We watched Family Guy again last night. Very disappointing. Where are the neighbors? And the "eewww" factor was Waaay too high. I think I said eew an average of every other dialogue line for an entire five minute stretch at one point.



And Monday sucked. Freezing cold at work, boring as all fuck, people breathing down my neck regarding their various projects, and the bosslady breathing down my neck about ALL the projects.

And I am so disengaged from it all at this point that I can't even pretend like I care.



The vet's office. I am shopping for a new veterinarian, because the animal hospital we have used for many years has deteriorated so significantly that I refuse to take my dog there anymore. I had to drop $125.00 Saturday, and Raji never even got to see a doctor. And the tech who drew her blood was an incompetent boobie who hurt her; jamming the needle in and out and pumping the syringe, trying to get the vein, until I forced him to stop.

Asshole. And then he couldn't figure out why she didn't want him to try the other foreleg! Poor baby was trying so hard to be good during this torture. After I'd yelled at him to stop, she hid between my back and the wall, whimpering. I told the guy that if he tried her other leg, and came up dry on the first shot, he had to stop and call in a vet. He managed to get her draw, though. Asshole. Her leg was bruised and painful all weekend, and she kept licking it and favoring it.

Combined with their chronic understaffing, general unreliability, and that time they tied her up inside her pen when we boarded her there...I've certainly had enough, and I think even the Spouse is convinced. I've lost all faith in them, and I don't even trust them enough to assume they are actually doing the lab work they are charging for. She is supposed to be getting the heartworm test, a chem panel, and a CBC, but who knows if they even bother.

My dogs have been patients there since the eighties, but they are never going to see another nickel from me.



Hobby Lobby. As a serious hobbyist, with only one hobby, I hate that place.

Their bead aisle is woefully inadequate for a serious beader. Tons of cheap plastic crap, though. And what is even more frustrating than not carrying a line is carrying a slapdash, spotty selection of a line. AND I still couldn't get a gold-finish tab clasp. They did have all beads at 50% off, so I found what little I could make use of, plus some basic supplies like needles and tigertail and some basic findings.

Then I tried to locate plain white jewelry gift boxes, for my finished work. No such luck. But they did have all of their decorated boxes on sale at half-price, so I bought up pretty much every small one they had left. Only about fourteen. Not exactly what I had in mind, but they will make a nice presentation. They had rectangle and round "hatbox" shapes, in a variety of pretty patterns. I'm thinking of putting a label inside the lid with my "company name", to personalize them. (Once I decide on one, that is.)

And, of course, there is my one-two whammy against the place. Not open on Sundays/scanners are a tool of the devil. As a busy, working woman, I need a hobby store that is open on the one day of the week I have to devote to a leisurely pursuit, and as a busy, working woman, I really don't care to spend 45 minutes in line while things get rung up--and marked down--by hand.



NO GYM REPORT, due to unbearable ickyness of being.





Reading: "London Holiday", by Richard Peck, and �Recalled to Life�, by Reginald Hill.

Listening: XM, Fred. SSOTD: "Instant Club Hit ", by Dead Milkmen

Beading: Finished, finally, to my satisfaction--the bracelet in yellow and green. (Happy Mother's Day, Mom!) Deciding on the next project, out of several on deck.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com