rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















again with the girly stuff
Thursday, Apr. 28, 2005, 8:28 PM

Squeal! I�m getting a new ring. Apparently Spouse was quite taken by the Mother�s Day ad from Shaw�s. They always have a nice quality, inexpensive ring on special sale for major holidays, and this time it�s a white gold and pink (lab-created) sapphire piece. When he showed me the ad and asked if I�d like that, I was all �Ooh! Yes, please!

I mean, come on...it�s PINK!

There�s only one thing. Greedy little moi also wants the comparable offer from Kay�s. White gold and blue (also lab-created) sapphire piece. That would look fantastic with my sapphire and diamond earrings. I need to figure out how to weasel both rings out of him. But since I still have quite a lot of motorcycle guilt working for me, and they are very inexpensive, it shouldn�t be too hard.



Beading is a whole new thrill with my new specs. I feel like working on my project every night. There for a while I was simply to wiped out with eye fatigue to do much, but now I have to force myself to stop.

I enjoy it so much...I can�t believe I let my eyes get so bad without doing something about it. It was costing me more than I realized. But now I can devote more time to creating those zippy little pieces that get me lots of compliments in the ladies room at work.

There are some women at my company who I only bump into there, and every time we see each other, we have to have a little jewelry show as they check out my handiwork and wax enthusiastic over it. I can�t deny that I get a lick out of it. It makes me purr.



Work is grinding away at me, but the project I�m working on currently is not the same kind of headache I�ve been slammed with so consistently over the past several months. The difference? The head programmer this time is great at what she does--the best we�ve got. Aand the project manager is very competent and knowledgeable. I had several project in a row where I drew unenviable combination of bad programmer/bad manager, and several in a row where the manager was okay, but it was still the sucky programmer. This time it�s a jackpot. With our very rockin� uber-PM going off to a different part of the company, this guy�s the best one of the bunch.


I have to say it again. I love my friend D. She's a bit ahead of me on the weight-loss track, and incredibly generous with the items she can no longer wear. Monday, she gave me a gorgeous pair of size twenty pants. AND THEY FIT!!! Granted, they are very good quality (Evan Picone), and so they are cut generously. But it feels so good to be wearing something with that size tag, even if it is a bit of a cheat. Anyway, they are black crepe, fully lined, and make me feel fabulous. I wore them today, and I found that I was standing straighter and walking with a bounce in my step.

Today, she gave me a beautiful, white cotton Josephine Chaus tunic with black and white beaded appliqu� on the yoke. It will make a definite improvement over my oversized Brendan Fraser tee-shirt as a swimsuit cover-up.

And when she came back from Mexico a couple of weeks ago, she brought me a delightful little carved wood turtle, with a bobbly head. Since he�s a blue turtle, naturally I named him Sting.

But. Although I won�t deny that it�s marvelous to get the goodies, it isn�t her generosity with material things that makes her so special. It�s the endless support and caring she shows. She�s been there for me when I needed to talk about Spouse problems, the hell of work, the ups and downs of dieting. She gives me good advice and mothers me when she thinks I need it. She is a rock. And she rocks.



I�m a tightly wound little bundle of nervous energy tonight. I�m trying to burn it constructively, by doing laundry and vacuuming and such. I�ll probably go do some more beading, too. I just feel wired. I have a hunch it�s the result of three straight days on the (food) wagon, and a couple of good workouts. Why do I always fall back into the food binging habit, when it makes me feel so frigging awful, and being good results in feeling good? I guess I just have to put more effort into my fight to be right.


GYM REPORT:



35 minutes



1.89 miles



239 calories



Uh-huh. Worked my ass off. Damn Right.

And I've been being good on my diet, too. I've got a goal for the 3rd week in May, and fully intend to reach it. Eight pounds to go.





Reading: "A Tale of Two Cities", by Charles Dickens.

Listening: XM, "The 80's". M (Robin Scott), "Pop Muzik".

"New York, London, Paris, Munich
Everybody talk about...Pop Muzik!"

Beading: A criss-cross necklace of teardrops. It�s PINK!

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com