rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















unspecific Wednesday post
Wednesday, Apr. 27, 2005,

I read a kinda crappy review of Wendy McClure's book today.

I get a strong vibe of "Ugly Girl", there. You know "Ugly Girl", right? I went to college with, and got sneered at politely by Ugly Girl.

Ugly Girl has plenty of self-image issues she doesn't like to be reminded of, but has built quite a little intellectual paradise for herself, where looks don't really matter.

Of course, she still feels superior to Fat Girl. Because she didn't get to choose her nose, or her ankles, or her eyebrows...but being fat is just a matter of will, right? At least UG has the self-discipline to be thin.

After reading those reviews, I see that the reviewer wants less familiarity, but more personal detail, with more specific details of pain, but not too much pain, but less description, but more information, but--uh...

Okay, I admit it. I don't know what the heck that reviewer wants.

Unless it's for all the fat people to shut up and go home, while the thin intellectuals write brilliant essays about "fat as a cultural construct " in their detached and objective ways, and gaze broodingly out the windows of their ivory towers.



Did I just write a review of a review?


I'm not having too difficult a time getting used to my new glasses, although I've looked down suddenly a couple of times and gotten a bit dizzy. So far, it's only the gym where I've a problem. I don't mind though; (here comes the shallow) they look so great I'm willing to put up with a touch of vertigo.

Since I can actually see to do it, I was enjoying my beading so much last night that I didn't want to go to bed. The balance has been restored, and once again it is my hands that are the weakest link, not my eyes. (For now...)



GYM REPORT:

33 minutes

1.76 miles

217 calories

Back on the treadmill again. And that is where adjusting to bifocals seems to be the most difficult. But if I tried to power-walk without wearing glasses, I'd have even more balance issues.




Reading: "A Tale of Two Cities", by Charles Dickens.

Listening: XM, "The 80's". U2, "Angel of Harlem".

Beading: A criss-cross necklace of teardrops.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com