rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















butts & beadhead
Friday, Apr. 29, 2005, 10:30 PM

If you go to the gastroenterologist for an exam, does it count as a UFIA when he goes there and does that?

I had my colonoscopy prelim with my old pal "Dr. Mario" today. (I call him my old pal because he was so good natured that time back in '00 when I puked on him.) I definitely have to get the scope, and he was much peeved with me when I told him the bleeding has been going on since August, and that I was down to one every five days in the poo dept.

I love a doctor that gets agitated about your health situation--most of them are so impersonal and detached that you don't know what they're thinking. Not "Dr. Mario"! He tells you exactly what's on his mind.

So my ick apointment is June 6th (D-Day! But that was the earliest he could do it.)and I'll have to go through the usual cleansing thing beforehand. At least he isn't making me do the "Gallon of Drano" prep this time. I get to do one that mixes with pop, along with laxative pills I have to take. And the fast, of course. The worst part will be giving up Naproxyn for a week prior. I won't be able to use my hands after the first couple days, I'm betting.

Since it is on a Monday, I won't have to worry about leaving work early the day before to start prepping. And at least I can have Spouse drop me off and pick me up without much inconvenience. That worked out well.

Meanwhile, I'm supposed to take a biscodyl laxative every three days if necessary, to keep things moving. Which is fun, because I sure do love those violent bowel cramps.



On to more pleasant subjects. I found it necessary after that to go do something pleasant immediately, so after stopping at the neurologist's for my records, I popped over to the bead store on the north side of town.

I don't usually go there, because the owner is a motormouth, and pisses me off by subtly badmouthing every other bead store in the area. but since I was in the neighborhood, I stopped in to see what she had.

I ended up spending about $22. Got some neat ideas, and some pretty beads to play with, and a case of the guilts because I hadn't gone to my regular bead store. So I did. Truly, I needed some more beads to finish my project, and some Swars to go with the stuff I got on the North side. Another $14.

I finished my teardrops necklace last night, and some earrings to go with it tonight. I also want to do a bracelet--that's why I needed more beads. I'm weaving it on stretchy cord to make it easy to wear. I used a magnet catch on the necklace.

I also got the stuff to do a really gorgeous bracelet that will probably end up as a gift. Sort of a take-off on the hugs&kisses pattern, but I'm using firepolish AND Swars. The colors are Spring green and jonquil yellow.

And I got a pair of very interesting lampwork beads to do earrings from--they are cubes, diagonal drill, clear with swirls of rose-pink. The best part? I was able to find the right beads for the butterfly bracelet! India origin, based on an old Czech mold. They are fluted teardrops, and I was able to get a number of different colors. I'm using a burgundy-based carnival seed bead with them.

Yeah, I'm a bit of a junkie.



I'm making one of our Friday midnight dinners tonight--meatloaf, mashed potatoes, and peas. A regular blue-plate special. I hope he enjoys it. I'm looking forward to it, myself.

So I'd best go peel some potatoes.
>





Reading: "A Tale of Two Cities", by Charles Dickens.

Listening: shh!

Beading: A criss-cross bracelet of teardrops.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com