rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















rockin' the metabolism
Monday, Apr. 25, 2005,

The worst part of having to reschedule my test is the fact that they can whack me for another $25 co-pay. And my insurance company for another $75 office visit. Grr. At least my doc took the time to talk with me a bit and wasn't just scooch-stirrups-swab and I'm outa here.

(But now I really wish I hadn't spent $30 at the bead store yesterday. I'm a little light on cash for the week, I'm afraid.)

As to what he talked to me about...I'm metabolically fabulous, apparently.
Blood sugar is perfect, TSH spot-on, and cholesterol...183. Not bad for a fortysomething fat broad.

Oh, and I lost another pound.

Even the test itself was barely uncomfortable. I tell you, that's why I'd rather see my GP than my GYN for that particular ritual. A gentle hand with the hoo-ha is priceless.

Meanwhile, I have my prelim exam for colonoscopy on Friday, and need to pick up my neurology records and deliver them to the new hand doctor.



Well, we picked up the big baby's newest pacifier today. Spouse cleaned out the garage yesterday to make a home for it, and we went and got it as soon as I got home, which was around noon. Of course, I wasn't allowed to just dump him there and get back home so I had time to shower before my appointment. Nope--Had to follow him though all the delivery spiels and special gifts from different departments and all that crap. By the time I got back to the house, I had to settle for running a washcloth round my girly-bits and brushing my teeth.

He's thrilled with his new toy, of course. I don't know how thrilled he's going to be when he realizes that I'm finally, no matter what, going through with the hand surgery, and he's going to have to put up with the inconvenience and the expense, and tough shit on him. I am just not playing around about it anymore.



There are millions of things I should be doing, but I'm feeling very unfocussed right now. I need to get myself motivated, but it is so hard to do when there is never a prospect of eventual reward. Just more work. I think I'll go play in the beads.



Reading: "A Tale of Two Cities", by Charles Dickens.

Listening: XM "Frank's Place" "I've Got You Under My Skin", sung by Steve Lawrence

Beading: Couldn't get copper-colored earring findings, so I used gold instead. Made simple earrings to match the necklace I just finished--not best pleased, but they look okay. Currently trying to work out the bracelet to my satisfaction.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com