rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















kicking ass and taking eye exams
Thursday, Apr. 14, 2005, 8:34 PM

This message was on our answering machine today when I got home from the eye doctor.

" HEY THERE HON, IT'S ME, JUST CALLED TO SAY I LOVE YOU. TALK TO YOU LATER. 'BYE."

Soft, cutesey-sounding, breathy bimbo voice with a slight southern accent.

WHAT the FUCK is going on?!



Eye doctor. One piece of good news: My long vision has stayed the same for the last three years. Two pieces of bad news: My short vision has deteriorated to the point where I need bifocals.

And my glasses are going to cost me Three Hundred Dollars. After my insurance pays.

Fuck.

I picked out adorable frames, in a dark coppery metal, and they come with magnetic sunglass lenses. The chic type of clip-ons, I guess. They had one of those camera/computer screen "smart mirrors" (I just saw one of those on "What Not To Wear" last week, and thought it was totally marvelous.), so after I picked out a few likely pairs, the assistant took photos, so I could review them with my glasses on. The lens shape is much smaller than my current pair, and more rectangular. I really like them, and they make my face look a lot thinner. Very stylish, and much bolder. More in keeping with the image I want to project.

Truth to tell, I could have shaved some off of the lens cost, but fuck it. These are part of my face and my eyes, every day of my life. So I'm getting the thin polycarbonate lenses, with the no-line bifocal and the anti-glare coating. Make it easier for me to look at people--and for people to look at me.
And now I have to wait two whole weeks till they come in. (pout.)

And if "Mr.Harley Hog Shoppin', Getting Phone Messages From Skanks, Asshole Supreme" DARES to say ONE WORD to me about it, I'm going to stomp his dick into the dirt.



GYM REPORT:

33 minutes

1.81 miles

226 calories
The downside of posting a loss. You lose some points in the total calories burned dept.

And I think I'm going to start working some weights for my arms.




Reading: "Hard Times (For These Times)"by Charles Dickens


Listening: Listening: XM Satellite Radio, "70's on 7".
Song Sample for Today:
" I'm Not In Love ", by 10cc


Beading: No time tonight. Physical exam tomorrow. Got to do my doctor a favor and shave tonight.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com