rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















heart (burn) s and flowers
Saturday, Apr. 09, 2005,

I got up at my regular time this morning, so I could make it up to Raji after yesterday's walk got cut short. We went about four blocks or so, and she just trucked along. She was all about the neighborhood patrol today!

My best guess was exactly on the money, and I only had to work about 3 hours (7:30--10:30). I guess we only had the average amount of glitches.

Now here is something weird: When we were wrapping up, one of the project leads came by and summoned me to the conference room. Everyone working today was there, standing around. Then the Senior project lead presented my team member and I with A) Roses, B) A certificate of appreciation for all our recent hard work, and C) a $10 McDonald's gift cert. None of this was corporate, but rather a personal expression of gratitude from people I work with.

I was a bit flummoxed by this. It is always nice to be appreciated, and it was certainly sweet of them to do it.

But.

Am I the only one who sees the irony in showing me how much you appreciate me by giving me flowers I'm allergic to, and a cert for food I cannot eat?

Oh, well. The thought that counts, right?



GYM REPORT:
20 minutes

1.01 miles

148 calories

I went to the gym after work and climbed back on the horse treadmill, but took it fairly easy. As per Doctor's orders.



And then I went home and forgot all about Doctor's orders. I puttered around a bit, did dishes, looked at all the housework that needed doing...and chucked it all to go play outside in the dirt. It was so lovely out, I couldn't resist getting to work on the big flowerbed. I raked all the crap out and bagged it, cleared out all the little patches where the grass had encroached, hoed and cultivated the hell out of it, and then worked in all the Preen I had left, to prevent future weeds. Spouse came home from work when I was working on it, and just smiled. He's itching to garden as well.


After I finished, we got ourselves cleaned up a little, grabbed some lunch, and did the grocery shopping, fighting the mob and the mess at the Woody's. Are they EVER going to be done with this freaking remodel?

I got my BFL Bars, my hair-color, and the dinner-sized Lean Cuisines all of which I can only find there, so at least I gained something out of going to that particular store and putting up with the hassle.

When we got home, I A) cleaned out the fridge, so I could B) put away the groceries, which meant I then had to C) DO MORE DISHES! And take out the garbage, to boot.



Supper was thick, succulent pork chops, grilled over wood charcoal and slathered with spicy barbecue sauce, served up alongside corn-on-the-cob, tossed salad, and twice-baked potatoes. Damn, it was good! All except for the part afterwards, where I DID THE DISHES AGAIN!

Yep, three time in one day. Suckage.



I was so freaking whipped I ended up hitting the rack at a little after eight pm. Spouse and Raj were already crashed, so I still won the "last man standing" for Saturday.



Reading: The May issue of Alfred Hitchcock's Mystery Magazine. The Humor issue!

Listening: Listening: XM Satellite Radio, "70's on 7". No Song Sample today.


Beading: Gave up on bead browsing; just can't find what I need. But I'm going to do a piece for my niece's grad gift, using beads I already have:

A DNA spiral, choker-length, in blues and greens, with the center spiral row done in teardrop beads to give added texture and interest.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com