rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















some things are more taxing than others
Wednesday, Apr. 06, 2005, 8:58 PM

I love my tax lady--I found out my refund amounts today. While I'm very opposed to over-paying, it's going to be a pleasure this year to get checks instead of writing them.



We are headed into one of the worst "freezin' seasons" in my office. It is never warm there, but in the Spring and the Autumn, I am pretty much sitting 8 hours a day in a continual icy blast from the vent located above and slightly behind me. A time of blue lips and neck pain and numb fingers.
I have GOT to get another job...


One closer to my home, preferably, now that gasoline is up $2.46 a gallon!

Remember last week, when I speculated that I might possibly, one day, look back in longing at a gas price of $ 2.23?

I didn't expect it to be so fucking soon.



Seriously, the burnout I have at work is making me bitchass crazy, crabby, and damn near incoherent. I feel like the validity of my job is nil right now. It doesn't help that they promised me I could do some educational programs as soon as they found one that was "at a good time, close by, and not too expensive".

I rate a free, over-the-web seminar. That is how much they value me. There's my worth, right there.

No boss, No boss's boss, staff at this level is at 50%, and zero support from programmers, development, or IT. Most of the time, it's less than zero. Zero implies that they do nothing, whereas in reality, they are actively doing all they can to fuck me over.

My job is never an easy one, but up until now I've managed to pull it together somehow, and dodge the problems, and get the job done.

But it is getting progressively more difficult to do that, if not impossible.



I did one thing that I really have been needing to do--I made an appointment with an eye Dr. for an exam and new glasses. I had to pick from the list of providers who take my vision insurance, and they are all going to be pretty expensive. And the one I picked is not one of the cheaper ones on the list, I'm sure. But sometimes, in my perpetual exhaustion, I just go for the convenience.

So I picked the one across the street from my house. My appointment's the 14th.



I saw my chiro today, and he had to do quite a lot of shifting things around to get things shifted back into place. He advised ice this evening, and said it was okay for me to start going to the gym again, as long as I took it easy at first.

Eventually, I'll probably have to have my SI joints fused. I can't go on forever with this problem, never knowing when it's going to go out on me. And it's only going to get worse with age.

But for now, here I sit with an ice pack wedged between me and the chair, making the best of things.

Where's the Motrin?




Reading: "Murder Must Advertise", by Dorothy L. Sayers

Listening: Listening: XM Satellite Radio, "70's on 7". It's Mega-hit day here at the Song Sample.


"Hotel California", by The Eagles
"Life in the Fast Lane", by The Eagles

"I Want You To Want Me", by Cheap Trick


Beading: On hold--for now, but I found a bracelet pattern I want to try. It looks challenging, but I think I'll be able to do it.


recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com