rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















I suffer for my soup bowls
Friday, Apr. 01, 2005, 7:13 PM

There. The serious stuff dispensed with for now. On to the frivolous:

You know you have been married a long time when you wear out the soup bowls you got for a wedding present. Spouse's godmother gave us a set of those little french onion soup pots with the handles when we got married, and they are the only bowls we ever used for soup, in 20 years.

But alas, they have succumbed to the ravages of time. Chips, cracks, and handle detachment. So I lave been looking for the perfect replacements. Can�t find what I�m looking for, and I�ve tried catalogs, on-line, stores, and a place that custom-throws pottery. I won�t give up; I will find what I want eventually.

But meanwhile, we need something to eat soup out of!

When I went to Family Dollar, of all places (to buy cheap throwaway sponges), I never expected to find anything even close what I was looking for.

But there they were. Generously sized, deep, tastefully shaped.

And $2.00 apiece.

So what did it matter if they were...ahem...RED? Not a lot to me, actually. I was grooving so much on the proportions and the price, I figured I can live with the color. It�s a sort of cinnabar red, so it isn�t too glaring to my earth-tone sensibilities, and while it clashes with my dishes, I have to say that when we eat soup around here, it�s a pretty casual affair. Anything �served with� is usually on a paper plate. These will do admirably until my quest for perfection meets with success.



And in other news, I�m making homemade vegetable soup for dinner tonight. With cornbread.


Someday, when I read through this again, I will look at the following sentence and either be: A) shocked at how expensive, or B) shocked at how cheap.

I paid TWO DOLLARS AND TWENTY-NINE-POINT-NINE CENTS a gallon for gas today!!

But either way, I cannot envision a time when I won�t be shocked.



The Pope probably isn�t going to make it, and despite the fact that I disagree with nearly everything the man stands for--I always liked him. And I will feel sad.




Reading: "The World's Finest Mystery and Crime Stories, 3rd Annual collection", edited by Ed Gorman and Martin H. Greenberg.

Listening: XM Radio; the E! Channel. True Hollywood Stories in the car.


Beading: I�m still fiddling, but I just can�t seem to concentrate...

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com