rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















happy easter, if you happen to swing that way
Sunday, Mar. 27, 2005, 11:56 AM

A lovely, happy Easter morning, if just a bit on the cool side. I got up and took the dog for her walk at about 6:30, and we were socked in by lake fog. But it has all burnt off now, and it is sunny, and about 52 degrees.

Unfortunately, Raji had one of her stomach upsets this morning, with much foofing and the runs and the ralfs and very clingy on her "mommy". But I gave her one of her pills, and by the time Spouse and I were eating our pancakes (Spouse made one of his fabulous breakfasts this a.m.), she was feeling well enough to mooch.



After I cleaned up the kitchen and myself, we ran out for a little while. Spouse thought he was going to go to the hardware store, even though I reminded him, as I do every Easter, that they'd be closed. So, once he saw with his own eyes that they WERE closed, we turned for home, with a quick stop at Walgreens on the way. Last chance for Easter candy, people! I got a bag of the prime stuff, Easter candy-wise. Dove dark chocolate eggs. Spouse got his favorite; Reese's Peanut Butter Eggs. The traditional, brown chocolate type.

Not those white "chocolate" travesties that had BAD IDEA stamped all over them. They looked like a huge flop, anyway, judging by the massive quantities still on the store shelves this morning.

And Spouse picked up a new universal remote, having worn out the power button an yet another one. I try to explain that you don't have to push the button all the way through the unit, but he does it anyway.



Now he's out doing yardwork, and I have windows open to freshen the house a bit, and thought I'd sit to do this entry before puttering around the house. I have a ham, mashed potatoes, fresh steamed carrots, dinner rolls, jello, and banana cream pie planned for dinner, but all that is a lot simpler than it sounds, so I've got a bit of free time to read and putter.

Speaking of reading, I actually indulged myself this weekend, and I got through an entire book in two days! Despite running errands in Milwaukee, washing five loads of laundry, cleaning the kitchen, and vacuuming the house.



I kvetched about having to go to the tool store, but it was kind of neat, and I got a little stand thingie with swing-arms and clamps and a magnifier on it, a sort of third hand for close work. They are used for tying flies and doing other hobby stuff, and it will come in very handy for knotting and seed-beading and such.


Spouse got a few things for work, and then we went to the great poulterers we like and got some chickens, and stopped by P&E�s to drop off some stuff of Papa�s. Where we were greeted by a shocking development.

I�m an Auntie again.

His name is Mieshka, he�s nine weeks old, and he is the most adorable, rambunctious Akita puppy you�ve ever seen.

Yep. They got another Akita. It wasn�t exactly planned, but circumstances came together in the right way for them to get him, and they are thrilled. So we stayed and played awhile, before heading back to town. We did some grocery shopping on our way, and then home. We had a late lunch (Spouse grilled hot-dogs) about 3-ish, and then Spouse had a lie-down, and I proceeded to get some housework done.

As for our evening, well...we didn�t manage to get ourselves dinner (this is getting to be a habit), but we had a pleasant evening. I read, he watched TV, and after he went to bed, I watched more of my Rumpole episodes. It has been a much better weekend than I�d expected, I must say.




Reading: "The World's Finest Mystery and Crime Stories, 3rd Annual collection", by Ed Gorman and Martin H. Greenberg.

Listening: No commute, no tunes.


Beading: I'm going to give my bead box a good turn-out today. It's in a state, and a neat box is more conducive to beady activity. For me, anyway.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com