rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















hormone hell
Monday, Mar. 21, 2005, 3:23 PM

We went out shopping for a second time on Saturday night, as we'd neglected to stop at Sears so Spouse could pick up some tools he needed. So we popped down to Gurnee, and he got his stuff. Then we stopped over at the Best Buy to poke through the DVDs. I bought myself the first volume of "Rumpole of the Bailey" (seasons one and two), and a Colm Meaney movie called "Intermission", which I've seen bits of on IFC, but never got to see in its entirety. While I was shopping, Spouse was annoyingly obtrusive. Kept wanting to know what I planned on buying, and getting all in my business. It was making me crabby, so I gave up and paid for what I had in hand, and we went to the car.

Where he presented me with the SECOND volume of Rumpole.

My reward for caretaking his father all week, I guess. Sweet of him to get it for me, and no wonder he was so insistent that I get the first one for myself. He'd already snuck around behind my back and gotten the other one, and here I was telling him I was thinking of changing my mind and not getting it after all.

I started watching when we got home, but I fell asleep right at the point where the first episode ended and the second began.



Sunday was a pretty quiet day around our house...we'd sent Papa home on Saturday afternoon, and it was just the three of us. Nobody felt much like doing anything except eating and sleeping. Spouse felt sick, I was bloated and crampy and "bloody awful", and even the dog was achy and mopey. I did a little laundry, called my mom, Spouse made breakfast, I cleaned up the kitchen, I did a little more laundry, and everyone napped a bit. I watched some more "Rumpole", and ran out once, for a few minutes, to get certain supplies that I seem to go through at an alarming rate these days.

I felt kind of bad, because I made my mom feel all crappy when I called. I just asked her if my oldest brother and his wife had done anything special to celebrate their 25th wedding anniversary. It turns out my mom had completely blown it off. She felt like shit when I brought it up. Whoops!

I made some barbeque chicken for supper, and we had that with potato salad and baked beans from Meijer.



Today, I faced the horror that is going to work, even though I'm at that point where I feel like my body is trying to poison itself with hormones. I didn't feel I could miss it, short-handed as we are. Neither did, my sole remaining co-worker, apparently, who came in and worked all day despite her slipped disc. Good thing we did, I guess, as Mizz Thang didn't show up, again. Christ, I hope they fire her.

Spouse called me after his Dr.'s appointment this morning, to let me know that: A) he has arthritis in his ankle (which we kinda knew), B) that quack he goes to can't give him anything for it because all the arthritis drugs have been yanked off the market, and C) He has a severe bronchial infection.

I feel bad that he's sick, and I hope he gets better soon and all, but if I don't get to be alone tonight, I'm putting him out of my misery!



GYM REPORT:

33 minutes

1.77 miles

225 calories
Cause I don't want the hormones to win.




Reading: "The Other Side of Ethel Mertz...The Life Story of Vivian Vance", by Frank Castellucio and Alvin Walker.


Song Sample For Today: XM Satellite Radio, "70's on 7". "Bad, Bad, Leroy Brown"


Beading: Finished the strung necklace of freshwater pearls, carved cylinders and rounds of coral, and gold spacers, AFTER I did the earrings. I did a keyhole accent on the necklace to give it some visual interest.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com