rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















pink! purse!
Saturday, Mar. 19, 2005,

Well, with Diaryland down, I'm just going to write this up and post it when I get the chance.



I had another busy day on Friday, starting at work and carrying on throughout the day. I got a real sock in the gut at work. My boss isn't going to be my boss anymore. He's on to bigger and better things, and I'm going to be reporting directly to his boss from now on. The good news is, I'm still on track for a promotion in June, and his boss is pretty cool, so she should be okay to work for. The bad news is, he really is a pretty good boss, and we have a great working relationship, so I will feel the loss.



As to the problem member of out team; IF she comes back, and IF they don't fire her (my boss made it sound like both of these things are still very much up in the air), she will be busted down to a subordinate position on the tem, and only be doing grunt work to support the actual testing that I and the other girl will be doing. Boss told me he was very proud and impressed with the way we've been handling all the shit thrown at us, and he couldn't be more pleased.



I was just glad that he values and respects me enough to have a private meeting with me, and let me in on what's going on, so I wouldn't be too upset at this latest turn of events.


When I got home yesterday, Spouse and I went out to lunch, and when we got home, Raj had had a nasty, smelly accident on the rug. I ended up having to get out the shampooer to deal with it. Ugh.



Later, after he left for work, I set out on my usual Friday errands to the drugstore and such. Plus a trip to Aldi's, to get the donations for the Boy Scout Food Drive today.



I hit Aldi pretty hard, winding up with a case of rice mixes, a case of mac & cheese, a case of assorted soups, ditto canned veggies, a case of peanut butter, 9 pounds of rice, 3 boxes of pancake mix, a dozen cans of tuna, and three bottles of syrup.



And as a little reward for myself, I got a bunch of bright pink roses. I couldn't believe that Aldi had 1/2 dozen bunches for only $2.99--I figured I deserved that much. They really are very pretty, and even thought hey kind of aggravate my allergies, I couldn't pass them up.


After I finished my shopping (and gave myself a very nasty blood blister on my finger loading the car) I came home, put my own shopping away, and puttered a bit. Did some wash, made a very simple dinner, cleaned up after, beaded a bit, baked Spouse some cookies, and just generally farted around.



I stayed up late to see Spouse when he came in, and make his dinner hot
and fresh for him. He appreciates the attention, and I like to give it.


This morning, Papa got up early and got cleaned up, so I dragged my butt out and made coffee, and we sat all sat around chatting for awhile. Then Spouse got up and dressed, and they headed for the Diner for breakfast. Now it's my turn, so I need to get into the shower and get myself in gear. I need to unload the car and put all the scout stuff on the porch for pickup, and then we are all heading into the City/'burbs for shopping, and lunch at Russell's Ribs.


So off I go.


LATER, THAT SAME DAY...



Did some serious grocery shopping at Meijer and Trader Joes. Also scored some HUGE 100% cotton bath towels, "Buy One, GET TWO Free", for 9.99, a Buxton red leather card case so I can lighten my wallet up, and another purchase with which I quite pleased.



I found the purse. The pink purse.

It's probably pretty clear by now that I am disgustingly practical. But I really wanted a pink purse. It still had to be a useful size, comfortable shape, reasonable price, and decent quality, of course.



But pink. And the right pink, too. This one is a Nine & Company "Logo Hobo". Here is a description of it: "Classic styling and modern details combine perfectly to give you this must-have hobo! Featuring an all-over squared pattern. Contrast piping with a silver-tone buckle accent. Loads of interior organization including a zippered compartment and cell phone pocket, so everything stays in place. Plus, it comes with a matching mini coin purse and keychain. Great style and great function, what more can you ask for? 9"H x 12 1/2"W x 3 1/2"D. Zipper closure, shoulder strap. Fabric. "

They call it "mauve", but the print is really a jacquard effect in lighter and darker rose pink. The strap and the buckled trim are tan.

And I'm a complete dork, for going on and on about my pink purse.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com