rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















THGFH
Monday, Mar. 14, 2005, 7:20 PM

QUOTE OF THE DAY:

"A movie! "The Firm," with Tom Cruise. That must be the sequel to "The Inadequately Coalesced." ~James Lileks, in The Backfence



This is quite possibly going to be the longest week of my life. Papa, who we'll be referring to as THGFH (the house guest from hell) Is Making. Me. NUTS.

four thirty-six in the A.M., I wake up to a strange sound. " WHO THE FUCK IS TALKING?" I asked out loud, in an exasperated voice. Well. In the manner of many elderly people, THGFH goes to bed about eight, and WAKES UP AT FOUR. And what he likes to do, when he wakes up in the middle of the FUCKING NIGHT, is listen to the radio. Just loud enough to keep me from sleeping.

Any softer, I wouldn't hear it. Any louder, I would be able to discern the actual words, and flop back to sleep, because I can sleep with the radio on. But this was that very precise volume at which I hear an annoying buzzing sound that I can just barely make out as human voices, but that I cannot reallyhear.

So it Drives. Me. Crazy!

Let's see...what else?

Well, I planned out a week of menus calculated to be nutritious, tasty, simple, and pleasing, after I spent all but my last dollar on high-quality groceries, which I will have to cook and serve all bloody week--he pouted because I forgot that Thursday is St. Pat's, and he wants corned beef & cabbage.

So I told him he's taking me OUT for corned beef & cabbage on Thursday. To his credit, that was fine with him.

But now I have to find a place that is serving CB&C on Thursday.

I tell you, the only thing in the Universe that could make me look forward to this week at work is...this week at home.



Work. Yes. Remember the co-worker with the biiiig mistake?

She was in a minor car accident on Thursday, as she left work. So naturally, she didn't come to work on Friday, or today. Which means that I had to take over her project. And of course, we promptly discovered that her work quality is no better than it was on the project where she made the biiiig mistake.

I don't know how much longer this is going to go on, but it is killing me to try and do her job on top of my own. And not only am I consistently having to do her job, I'm consistently having to do it, from scratch, at the very last minute.

And on top of everything else, I'm feeling guilty because she had an accident. I feel like I "wished her into the cornfield", with all the malevolent thought waves I've been sending her way lately.

And all the stuff I need to do for my projects is being thwarted by system problems. So I'm pretty much dead in the water. And when all the various hardware and software problems are resolved, then come the INTERRUPTIONS.

Have I mentioned that I hate it there?



GYM REPORT:

30 minutes

1.61 miles

210 calories

Today was my first workout since last Wednesday. Where do I go to get my self-discipline renewed?

Part of the problem is this: There is someone who works near my desk who snaps their gum alllllllll day.

In-cess-ant-ly. Since this is something that makes me incapable of functioning rationally, I spend most of my days trying to control my psychopathic rage at this person. My workout was a little, half-hour oasis of sanity in my otherwise hideous day.

And now, she's decided to work out every day. At the same time as me. Next to me.

I am crying right now. Because it's like somebody wants to kill me.
That's what it feels like, I swear.

I kept catching myself pulling into this really defensive posture today. Arms crossed, shoulders hunched, bent at the waist--like I'm turning inward to deflect blows. Gee. Wonder why?



I kicked it into high gear when I got home, whipping out a very nice dinner (pork chops, mashed potatoes and gravy, steamed, buttered peas, and applesauce), cleaning up the mess in the kitchen both before and after dinner, taking the dog for a walk, and now, doing an entry. I desperately need to feel productive at home when I've had an unproductive day at work.

Thanks, Mom and Dad. You and your Protestant Work Ethic.




Reading: "The Best American Mystery Stories 2001", edited by Lawrence Block and Otto Penzler. Also, �Citizen Girl�, by Emma McLaughlin & Nicola Kraus.


Listening: XM Satellite Radio, "70's on 7"


Beading: Dis-assembled my green Swarovski bracelet Saturday night. Started re-weaving it yesterday, but didn't get very far. Just too tired, and the hands weren't really working very well.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com