rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















shopping, cleaning, and otherwise acting kind of like a girl
Saturday, Mar. 12, 2005, 7:40 AM

No special reason for not posting entries the last couple of days. I guess I just didn't feel like it.

I'm sitting here thinking of all the work I need to do around the house today, and wanting to just crawl back into bed. I've got to get this place to a reasonable degree of livable because Papa is coming to stay this afternoon. And that promises to be a long journey. (Both the cleaning, and Papa's stay. Sigh.)

I waited until 11:30 on Friday for someone in management to let me know if my overtime was approved, and when no one did, I left at my usual time and came home. Spouse and I grabbed lunch before he left for work, and he gave me a shopping list of things he needed but wouldn't have time to get. So I ended up running errands after he headed to work.

One of the items on his list was a new pair of work boots, but fortunately he was quite precise as to what he needed. He had the brand, model, and size for them. Since I needed some new shoes for work (my black ones rip a hole in my left sock every time I wear them), I figured I'd look while I was at the shoe store. Jackpot. I found a simple and comfortable style that wasn't too expensive, and bought three pairs. Navy, Brown, and Black. Now I'm all set for a while.

Yes, I KNOW. I was born to wear a uniform, I guess. If I find something I like, I like it. It's right. Why look for something else? It's the way I am, and there is very little chance of changing me at this point.

While on my wanderings, I also invested in some new undies. Nothing fancy (because I'm not a fancy person), but cute, and not two sizes too big like the ones I've been wearing. I still need a few more bras, but the string wardrobe is coming right along.

Since Spouse's list included prosaic items like shampoo, anti-perspirant, and sweatsocks, I did the Wally�s thing. I hate going there, especially here in town, but sometimes it�s the practical thing. And I figured that I�d get some more sweatpants for myself, for the gym. I only have one pair that fit right now, and I�d like to have two or three more.

Well. It seems that you cannot get sweatpants for a woman at Wally-World unless it is Autumn or Winter. Hmmm. Well, since the department manager happens to be my best friend, I sought her advice on a reasonable alternative. I thought maybe some of those athletic pants like Niece lives in would be good, but they only had them in nylon and other unbreathable fabrics. I�m sorry, but If I�m going to sweat, I want to be in cotton. She also had some �activewear� ensembles consisting of a casual knit pant and hoodie combination, in a lightweight cotton blend. Which would have been ideal, had the pants gone all the way down to the ground!

Who the fuck decided that Misses sizes should get full-length pants, and people with legs like tree-trunks should only be allowed those godforsaken abominations called CAPRIS?! Grrr.

Well, there�s a �Just My Size" store at the Outlet Mall, I suppose I should call them and find out if they have sweatpants.

Sorry, W--yet another example of why your department isn�t making the bucks anymore. The clothes they are sending you SUCK. Not your fault, M�dear, but the fact is, I still don�t have any pants, and you don�t have my money. Some things never change. It was the same thing 15 years ago when I ran that department. And that was a big contributor to me getting out of retail altogether, nine years ago.

I also looked for a nightgown (flimsy, poorly made crap, not a thing I�d be caught dead in. And I�m not even picky.) and a new purse for spring. I want a pink one, but I refuse to spend major buckage for a purse that will go out of style quickly, so I thought I�d look for something cute and cheap while I was there.

Cheap, they had plenty of. Cute? Not so much. I�ll just stick to my good black leather that weathers every season with aplomb. And start looking everywhere I go for the next Old Faithful, because it takes me years to find a bag I can live in.

Have I mentioned that I really hate to shop?
Niece and I were just discussing this last weekend. She is a kindred spirit, and hates to shop, try on clothes, and wander around stores as much as I.

Unless, of course, the store in question is a bead store. Then we�re just a couple of crack babies.

Well, I suppose I should get my ass in gear--this house isn�t self-cleaning, and there�s no one to do it but me.




Reading: Juggling two at the moment. "Murder is Easy", by Agatha Christie, and �Citizen Girl�, by Emma McLaughlin & Nicola Kraus, �The Nanny Diaries�. Are these women ever going to come up with a protagonist that isn�t a passive-aggressive, unlikable, little twit who thinks the world owes her a living?


Listening: Dish Network CD channel, �Blues�--but I�ll probably change over to something more lively to clean house to...


Beading: I resized my pink choker to fit me better, and am starting to do the same with my green Swarovski bracelet.


recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com