rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















odd sort of day
Friday, Feb. 25, 2005, 2:58 PM

Listened to Seventies music on the way in to work this morning, because sometimes comfort food isn't what you eat. And sometimes, Donny Osmond and Tony Orlando are what you need to hear.

And sometimes, you just need to drive down the road, singing at the top of your lungs:
�"Cher-o-kee People! Cher-o-kee Trii-ibe!�



I'm not going to complain about work today.

It's not that I don't have plenty to complain about, it's just that I don't want to be reading this in the years to come, and have every day's post be a litany of woe about my employment situation.


Yesterday, I mentioned that I can't afford a much needed haircut or oil change. What I didn't mention is:
I DESPERATELY NEED CLOTHES THAT FIT!!!!

I am currently wearing pants that won't stay up, and have to be pulled all the way up to my boobs because there is so much room in the rise. My sweaters fall off of one shoulder, and sag and bag all over.

I know a lot of people give me the "wish I had your problem" line, but trust me, they don't. It sucks to be so broke that you can't even afford to do something nice and good and potentially lifesaving, because you can't afford the new clothes it requires.

And it is really frickin' hard to enjoy any elevation in your self-image, when your ridiculously ill-fitting clothes make you look more horrible than ever.



I came straight home from work today, because I wanted to see my sweetie before he left for work. He was whining because he wanted hot dogs for lunch, but we didn't have any buns. So I ran over to the store for him. No skin off my nose, because I was planning on going to the grocery store sometime today anyway--I need coffee.

But let him think I went just because I love him. It makes him happy, and it doesn't hurt anything.



He decided that we need a mini-break next weekend, so we're going up to Green Bay and staying at the Ramada Plaza again. Tundra Lodge, of course, is sold out for Saturday. But we got a reservation for a room with two kings, and I made Miss Raji's reservation at the kennel.

We'll take the Niece with us, and have a nice time swimming, and going to Seroogy's and just getting away. It's "Weetacon" up there that weekend, so I'm hoping to slip away at some point, and go put some faces to names.



Right After I saw Spouse off to work, My mom called to let me know that she's feeling a lot better, and gets released from rehab on Tuesday. I could tell she was doing better as soon as I heard her voice. She sounds better than she has for months, and like my mom again. We didn't talk long, but I was glad she let me know that she's better. It's a considerable relief.


I'm so tired this afternoon, I'm about ready to drop. I think I'll take a nap and get some rest. Then I can stay up till Spouse gets home from work, get a workout in, and make him a nice little dinner.





Reading: "The Murder Room", by P.D. James.


Listening: XM Radio--"Seventies on 7"-- Helen Reddy, The Raiders, Donny Osmond, Tony Orlando and Dawn, and jeez! Music was crap when I was a kid!


Beading: Truly...I suck.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com