rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















new developments
Thursday, Jan. 27, 2005, 6:43 PM

Well, beat my ass and call me Charlie.

I'm so flummoxed my head is spinning. I don't know where to begin.

She's leaving. Ms. Absentee Supervisor is taking another position within the company, and the job is open again.

I am to be recommended for it by said Supervisor, my Boss, and his Boss.

But I don't want it. I'm a tester, and I love testing. I don't want a low-level, pencil-pusher, work like you're salary but get paid for 40, admin job.

But I do want a promotion. And a raise. Now, I have been "reassured" by my Boss that regardless of me taking the job or not, I will be up for promotion in '05. But I've been burned before, and don't care to skip about all wide-eyed and trusting.

And I know that my boss thinks I'd be good at it, but at his level, it's all about making his life easier. Which I'm sure I would. But at the expense of making MY life a living hell.

Lots to think about.



Gym Report:
25 minutes
1.37 miles
183 calories
Meh. Not great, not bad; just meh.

I apparently didn't lose any weight this week, but that could either be because of
A) the monthly Bloat, or
B) the chocolate cake I've been eating every day.
Hmm. Tough call.



And I'm NOT doing my diet any good by ordering dinner from Luigi's, but I'm having a powerful craving for their unusual combination of stuffed peppers and MoJos. Plus, I feel starved, but not the least bit interested in cooking. So peppers it is.


My friend brought the boot anklet in for me to check out, and there really is nothing to it--just a simple stringing job. Cool beads, though, and quality craftsmanship. It is mostly 4mm Swarovski bicones, in the Jet/Hematite. These are really interesting, as they look silver from one angle and black from another. I�m going to try and get the beads from Midwest Bead, but if they don�t have them, Fire Mountain does.


I'm feeling so beat! I was awakened suddenly in the night by the kind of pain where it takes you a couple of minutes to tell what kind of cramp it is. Turned out it was both...

I got back to sleep with no more incidents, but Ms Raj decided to start the wake-up process shortly after four, and I ended up rising early, again. I didn't mind at first, but as the day drags on, that half-hour turns out to be really important.



Spouse called me at work today--he hasn't done that in a real long time, and since he's in Georgia, it frightened me to see his phone # on the caller ID. Turns out he just wanted to let me know that he got two "gimme" ice cream scoops, of the type with anti-freeze in them. Your hand warms the fluid inside, and it goes through ice cream with no fuss. And, in the fine tradition of the poopin' pig, he got a poopin' chicken. Well, I guess it's an egg-laying chicken, but the principle is the same.

Yep. That's what he called me at work to tell me. The goof.
He�ll be calling again later, I suppose.



Well, I�m currently having a sneezing attack that is up to its tenth eleventh sneeze, so I think I need to stop and do something about it. Man...WTF?!






Reading: "The Last Time They Met", by Anita Shreve. Also: �The Machine Stops� by E.M. Forster


Listening: Silence is very enjoyable sometimes.


Beading: Matching bracelet in the bright silver metallic spiral, planning a boot anklet.





recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com