rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















hump-and-a-half day
Wednesday, Jan. 26, 2005,

Work is way too much like work, I am miserable from the menses, I had to get up early this morning so I could go to the drugstore before work, and the excessive flow/cramping kept me from going to the gym today.

I started beading last night only to find that my hands were being particularly difficult. A combination of overusing them at work, the weather turning and turning again, and the Periodic Bloat. I couldn't keep it up for long, because they just wouldn't cooperate. So much for my much-needed occupational therapy.

I'm having difficulty getting into the book I'm reading because the characters seem to have no character. I don't think I like these people very much. But I'm only on page 61, so I'll plug a while longer.

I had lunch at work today; always a mistake. I don't know why I do it. A helping of some sad, tasteless, overdone pseudo-Chinese goop, an underdone oatmeal cookie, and a soda. (A cup of Coke/Pepsi hybrid. I'm always trying to mate the two, in order to breed RC.) Not appealing, not nourishing (I'm sure the nutrients had been beaten out of this muck long ago; it had an utterly dispirited air to it.), and overpriced.

Yesterday's weather was weird for the time of year. Sunshine, but oddly mild. (Usually, we only get warmer when it is cloudy.) Lots of snowmelt. Today has an evil, howling North wind, lake-effect snow, and a bitter chill. All that snow that melted yesterday became black ice in the night. I almost broke my neck on the front porch this morning.

You know...my heart isn't really in this today.






Reading: "The Last Time They Met", by Anita Shreve.


Listening: Silence is very enjoyable sometimes.


Beading: Matching bracelet in the bright silver metallic spiral. Very slowly, with frequent breaks to rest my hands. Also, planning a boot anklet.





recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com