rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















scary
Monday, Jan. 24, 2005,

Wow. A friend and coworker of mine was the victim of an attempted carjacking on Friday. In broad daylight, at Woodfield Mall. Upper level parking, right by the door to Nordstrom. Right where I always park when I go there. She screamed loud and long when the guy tried to get her keys, and a passerby confronted the assailant and he took off. She's fine, but still very shaken up and jumpy about it. Made me feel skeevy, though...we always park there because it's a quiet parking area, and you can usually find a space. But the "quiet spot" thing can work against you, too.

This is an attractive, stylish, well-groomed woman in her late 40s, alone, and driving a brand new Japanese car. Getting out, oblivious to everything around her, her mind a million miles away.

Perfect mark. I guess he wasn't expecting her to be a Polish/Italian hothead who could scream like a fishwife.
I have a feeling it will be a long time before she's that 'unaware' again. I'm just glad she's okay.



Gym Report:

26:00 minutes
1.41 miles
184 calories

Nothing spectacular, although after adjusting for the two pound loss, I have to work a bit harder to maintain these numbers.



I really didn't sleep well last night; first I couldn't get warm, then I was too hot, I took forever to fall asleep but woke way early--it just sucked all ways round. The neck and low back pain from yesterday seemed to resolve itself overnight, but my left elbow is still quite painful from shoveling. But sweet puppy cuddles put me in a decent frame of mind to pry myself from the mattress this morning, and I even took her for a short walk before I left for work.


After I posted yesterday, I promptly blew off all the stuff I'd stated to be my plans. I wasn't hungry, so I blew off the salmon dinner, and finally had some grapefruit and a lean cuisine just to eat something, so I didn't go 24 hours without a meal. I read a little, played and putzed around on the PC, and I'm pretty sure I watched some TV, but it apparently made no impression because I can't remember anything I saw.

I did have one rather strange phone conversation with Spouse's boss, who was drunk, called the wrong number to reach Spouse (home rather than cell), and couldn't figure out why a woman was answering the phone. Spouse called me shortly thereafter to apologize and explain that Boss was likkered up.

Anyway, I'm a little hesitant to put my plans for the evening on here now. But here goes:
I (swear I) am going to: wash & dry the throw rugs, run the vacuum, and do some general tidying around here tonight. I'm cooking the salmon so it doesn't get wasted, and eating my tasteful and sensible meal. I'm doing the dishes and cleaning up the kitchen after dinner. I may even walk the dog again.

I do not want to be such a slacker just because I'm a grass widow. I should have done all of this over the weekend, but didn't, and I'm red with the shame of it. It wasn't like I went anywhere. My car didn't leave the driveway between Friday at 3:00 pm and Monday at 5:50 am.



I wore the silver bead spiral necklace to work today; got some nice comments. I think I'd like to try some earrings, if I can adapt the spiral stitch to a dangle. And possibly a bracelet as well.



Reading: �The Eyre Affair", by Jasper Fforde Yeah, still. Just haven't had much time to read lately.


Listening: XM Laugh USA, On Broadway


Beading: Trying to work out earrings in the bright silver metallic spiral.




recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com