rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















pick up snow here, put snow over there
Sunday, Jan. 23, 2005, 4:53 PM

Jeez, what a morning! I got up at six to start the digging out process, beginning with cutting a path through the backyard for Ms. Raji so she could do her business. I spent about 45 minutes on that, and then came in to warm up for a while. I talked to Spouse at about 7:30, and then at eight, I headed back out to work on the walks and the driveway, and dug out the Rocket so I could let it warm up.

The plows built up a four-foot-high wall of dense, icy, snow/salt mixture, so I worked on nibbling that down until the traffic on the street got too heavy to let me. I'd been out for almost two hours at that point, so I came in to warm up again. I felt pretty good, except for the fronts of my thighs. They were like two frozen turkeys. I'll still have to go out again later, to finish cutting a whole big enough to get the car out.



I got out the heating pad and had just sat down to try and warm them up when the phone rang--my mom, with a Sunday-morning cry for sympathy. It seems my shit-head oldest brother had informed her that she really shouldn't have her knee surgery, because that would just be too hard for Dad to handle. My exact words, and I quote: "Boo-fuckety-hoo-hoo-hoo" Too damn bad for Dad! If he can't see that my mother needs to get this dealt with just so she can go on spoiling him rotten, then he doesn't need the consideration. I mean, look at the big picture for once, instead of thinking every goddam minute of your own immediate comfort. Even if you are too selfish and spoiled to think about Mom's pain, and her needs--think about down the road a ways. Treating her like a slave is wrong, but at least realize that a crippled slave will be more trouble and less use than a healthy one.

Anyway, we talked for almost two hours, and it was far more exhausting than moving all that snow.
The main reason I don't write much about my family in here is simple. I try not to deal with them any more than I absolutely have to...I hate to be so selfish, but I just don't have the energy to spare for all of their circular, unproductive thinking. All they ever want to do is bitch, and never seem to be interested in solving anything. What a monumental waste of time.



When I got off the phone, I threw together a casserole and popped it into the oven for lunch, then headed to the computer to relax myself, only to find that Roadrunner is apparently down right now. Sunuvabitch. Grrr.

So I will content myself with writing this up for now, and then having my lunch and popping in a movie or something. Dammit.



Later.

I ate my lunch, and then said to hell with it and went out to finish cutting the crap out of the end of the driveway. I have it wide enough for my car now, so it will just have to do. Because I am NOT moving any more snow today.

While I was out, Raj managed to get hold of my coffee cup and spill the dregs all over the living room rug, and herself. And to give it a thorough licking out. Great. Now the dog will be gacked up on caffeine all afternoon.



Damn, I wish I could get warm. I cleaned up the dog, and actually did the smart thing and lay down under the electric blanket for a nap. I only slept for an hour or so, then got up when Spouse called. I talked to him for a while, and he told me that Johnny Carson died.

Sad, but he was a deeply private man who had lived a long, full life. It feels intrusive, somehow, to dwell on it too much. I can only hope that, if there is an afterlife, John is there with good breath in his lungs, and a tennis racket in his hand.

After I talked to Spouse, I made myself a little coffee to clear the cobwebs. Naps always leave me feeling stupid. I'm planning to have baked salmon, asparagus risotto, and steamed broccoli for dinner, get all my shit ready for work tomorrow, and turn in early tonight. I'm starting to ache from my day's exertions, and I really just want to rest. Roadrunner is back up now, so I think I'll post this and go putter around a little.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com