rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















consumerist weekends
Sunday, Jan. 16, 2005, 2:14 PM

Damn, is it cold. Still in the January deep-freeze, but I can cope. The sun is shining! Third day in a row! And on the weekend, when I can be exposed to the light? That rules.



We took off to Northern Illinos again yesterday. My husband seems to be quite enamored of the Meijer store where we shopped last week, so we went there again. In addition to getting the groceries for this week, I snagged a sweater from their clearance racks; $14.99 for a fine-guage, cable knit in cream. Nice and practical. When we got home, I put away all the stuff and then threw together a pot of my homemade vegetable soup, and put it to simmer. Then I jumped in my car and ran some other errands of critical importance. (Gas in my car and food for the dog are so of critical importance.) We had the soup for dinner, and spent the evening relaxing. I finally got back to working on my bracelet, and Spouse spent some time doing resarch on the 'net for our next trip to LV, in August.

We are taking his niece (YAY!) and his mother (Lord, kill me now!) So he's already obsessing about making it the perfect vacation for them. Hmph. I wish he'd plan one of these trips around ME.



Anyway. Today, we kicked around the house in the morning.

I did--and still am doing--the damned wash. I was hoping to finally get my throw rugs washed this weekend, but my sweetie forgot to take his uniforms to work this week, so I had two extra bonus loads to do withOUT the rugs. Well, he's leaving for his business trip next weekend, so I'll do them then. I'll just have to live with the cruddy rugs for another week.

Spouse once again made breakfast on his new griddle; buckwheat pancakes. Can I just say, "Bleah"? I really didn't care for them. But they are his favorites, because his grandpa used to take him out to breakfast on Saturday mornings when he was little, and they always had buckwheat cakes.
How can I repudiate his pancakes with a backstory like that?

Around noon, my darling had a hankering to go to the bookstore, so we bundled up and went to Racine, to the Barnes and Boble. He found (yet another) Vegas book, and I snagged "The Eyre Affair" (the first Thursday Next title) and "Famous Crimes Revisited: From Sacco-Vanzetti to OJ Simpson"
by Dr. Henry Lee, and Jerry Labriola. They were both remaindered down to about six bucks apiece in hardcover.

After we came home, he settled down to watch TV/nap, and I returned to laundry, and snagging my chance to do an entry. Now, he's up, and I'm done.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com