rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















solar-powered diarist
Friday, Jan. 14, 2005,

Nick-N-Willy's Take-N-Bake Pizza. Heh. He knew exactly what he wanted, for a change.
And what a choice--I got the Mediterranean, he got cheese and sausage, because that's all he eats.
Mine had olive oil glaze, mozzarella, fresh garlic, marinated artichoke hearts, fresh spinach, tomatoes, feta, and oregano. Oooh, baby.
We'd never been there before, but I'd heard good things from the kind of people who appreciate good food, and aren't in the typical Kenosha mindset about pizza. (No toppings that weren't available in 1968, cook till cheese is brown leather, must be drenched in "red lead" sauce.) So we gave it a shot, and I, for one, loved it. Spouse liked it, too--and was amazed that he felt full after two pieces. Hey, it is more satisfying, I guess.



I'm hurting like a bastid today; last night on our walk, Ms. Raji waited till I had both feet on black ice before she bolted off to say "hi" to the neighbor. I feel like someone grabbed my ankles and made a wish. Urgh. I'm way to old and fat to be doing the splits, I can tell you.


At least I still went to the gym today , but I took it slightly easier. It felt easier, anyway. The outcome was still 25 minutes, and I did 1.26 miles and 171 calories, so it ended up pretty close to average--but I swear, it felt easier. I did some long-stride sets, and some high-lift sets, while I was on there, to help with the monotony and to help firm my abs a little more.


I talked to a couple of friends who were there, after I was done. JU and SC were doing their treadmill time, too. It is so good seeing SC up there puffing merrily away. When I think about how she used to be, it makes me believe in miracles. She is one of those people that makes life better, and I shudder to think that we would have lost her if she hadn�t gotten the lung transplant. She still battles the RA, of course. But judging from seeing her on the treadmill, her breathing rocks.


I stopped and got the veggies for dinner on the way home, and then zipped straight here, as I was running a little behind. Ms. Thing and I shared my leftover pizza for lunch, and I had the biggest, tastiest, juiciest pear I�ve had in years. Seriously--once in a while, you get the magic piece of fruit that reminds you why you keep buying more even when it disappoints 99% of the time. This was definitely a one-percenter.
And I sat on the front porch for a few minutes, because I don�t give a flying fig how cold it is--the damn sun is finally shining, and I�m gonna get me some!


I figured I might take a nap today, but I got a sudden burst of energized productivity, so I made a pan of brownies, prepped my pot roast with the magic elixir and put it in to bake, and then prepped the potatoes, carrots, onions, and celery, to be added later. And then I decided to write an entry. Such a busy girl I am.

The dog keeps shooting me those �humans are insane� looks. Tough! Even though my back and hip hurt, and I�m really overdue for number two (Tuesday was the last, I believe), I can apparently overcome all when the sun is shining. I�m going out now, and sit with my face to the sun some more. While I can!

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com