rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















the road to recovery goes right past the dry cleaners
Friday, Jan. 07, 2005, 4:06 PM

Well, back up on my feet and into the world today. I still feel kinda punky, but I can�t stay in my jammies forever.

I had to participate in a meeting to discuss the December cycle, good stuff and bad. I tried to keep it positive, and think I did a good job with that. My boss seemed relieved that we all had good stuff to say about it, and didn�t just go in and throw six fits about everything being terribly awful. I tried to lead with that, because I want him to take our concerns seriously, and not write it off as whining. Since the other (non-supervisor) team members follow my lead, I try to be very professional in those situations.



We also had a meeting to go over some new HR policies for this year, and why am I not surprised that they are cracking down on employees being late, taking sick time, and �fraternizing�?

Four more years (at the friggin� least!) of this right wing oppression of the worker.

I can�t complain too much, though. You know�on account of the police state thing and all.

Seriously, I won�t say I�m happy with the puny raise I got, but at least my check went up a tiny bit. Not much, about enough to buy a DVD or go to the bead store every pay period, but hey! Better than having it go down, due to taxes and insurance. I�ve had that happen, too. So I won�t bitch.



After work, I ran my errands (hunt down Prilosec, go to bank, pick up dry cleaning) and then I went to the bead store to spend my certificate. I hate to say this, because I love that we even have a bead store in this shit town, but I had a really hard time finding things I wanted to buy. Between the limited selection and the prohibitive costs, I have a struggle when I go in there these days. BUT�I did manage to spend it. I got some findings I needed, and some grey pearlescent beads in a lantern-cut shape�some silver-finish seed beads that I�m going to make a DNA spiral chain out of, and some pearly faceted ovals in a soft green tone that I may do a RAW bracelet from. I�m still trying to �hammer out� the design on the watchband, but I�ll get there.


Spouse called me a little bit ago; he wants to go out to the lodge for dinner tonight. Meh�I really don�t want to, but on the other hand, I don�t feel like cooking, either. He says he wants fish. I find that hard to believe, since he only eats fish about once a decade, and he just had it last spring in Green Bay. But whatever. They have a baked cod there that I�ll always eat, so I know I can find something there. But I�d really just like to go to sleep. I�m poopsied.


I need to go to the news stand, because I�ve finished every crossword puzzle book I own, and I�ve gotten to the point where I really can�t get to sleep without doing a crossword. I also need to pick up my allergy pills, and do some shopping this weekend. But not tonight. I really just want to go to bed.





Reading: �The Mayor of Casterbridge ", by Thomas Hardy. But set aside for now. Not really in the mood to read, oddly enough.


Listening: More �Avenue Q�, because I�m trying to memorize it


Beading: Beaded watchband , trying to get it RIGHT.




recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com