rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















still sick, still snowing
Thursday, Jan. 06, 2005,

Unggh. Still sick. Still running a fever, although it�s down from yesterday. I was hoping that resting yesterday would help clear it up, but now it just feels like it moved into my ears as well.

I made Spouse take me to the store last night for cold medicine and Cepacol lozenges, but none of it seems to be helping that much. The hot tea feels better than anything. The weird thing is, I don�t have a stuffy nose or chest, really�earache, bad sore throat, head and body aches, fever�but not stuffed up or coughing. Plain old tonsillitis, I guess.



I really didn�t want to go to the store myself, but I didn�t trust Spouse to bring back what I asked for. He�d just get NyQuil and Clora-Septic, when I wanted Tylenol Cold and Cepacol. He�s kinda stuck in his ways, and expects me to use the same old stuff he took when I was a kid. So I went with, out into a winter storm, in search of relief. I was wearing my jammies (sweats), AND a hoodie, and just put on my boots and parka and pulled a hat over my dirty, uncombed head. You know I�m really sick when I go out in public sans underwear, bra, or decent hygiene. Or when I actually wear a hat. We got some frozen food for dinner, and I got Stouffer�s mac & cheese, which is my all-time favorite comfort food, and pretty easy on a sore throat, to boot.

And I got pot-roast fixings for today�s dinner. I was going to chuck it all into the crockpot, but since I�m home anyway, I�ll do it in the oven. I�m never quite satisfied with the results when I slow-cook pot roast. So I don�t have to think about cooking, anyway. Good. More rest.



The weather really is dreadful. They were saying to allow two to three times your normal commute time, and trains were getting stuck. School is cancelled here, and there is a snow emergency till further notice. No parking on the street. We probably got about 10 inches, but it is blowing so bad, it�s hard to know. And it is still snowing, the last I looked. Scooter tried to kill himself with clearing it this morning. It doesn�t matter how many times I tell him to take it easy, he really is bound and determined to stubborn himself into an early grave.

As for Raji, she is being fairly content with just going into the backyard, although she wanted to walk last night, and I had a tough time getting her to go where I wanted.

This morning, Spouse wanted to clear before he took her out, but she couldn�t wait forever. She was crying so loud, I got up and pulled on sweatpants under my robe, threw on my boots and parka, and took her myself. My god, I�m surprised she didn�t explode, she had to go so bad. Now she�s just stretched out on the bed with her head on the windowsill, watching the neighbors shoveling.

I think I�ll join her on the bed, and we can have a little morning nap together.








Reading: �The Mayor of Casterbridge ", by Thomas Hardy. But set aside for now.


Listening: The sounds of shovel and plow, scraping away at the snow.


Beading: Beaded watchband set aside till I feel better.





300-6=294-6=288-4=284-4=280-2=278-4=274-3=271-2.5=268.5-4=264.5-2.5=262-2=260+6=266

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com