rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















sore throat and bad movie
Wednesday, Jan. 05, 2005, 10:45 AM

Home sick today; what was a general icky feeling yesterday has bloomed into a full-blown sore throat, stuffy head, and 101 fever. I had some toast, but it went down pretty rough. This entry will be short, because I really just want to go back to bed.



The snow we got last night wasn�t too bad, but the wind has been blowing it around something fierce. We are not actually supposed to get hit hard here at home, but down by work (Southern Lake County, IL) is supposed to see it a lot worse today into tomorrow. I will probably have a shitty commute if I go in tomorrow.

I hate winter.



I bought a cheesy movie from my youth at Wally�s the other day--�The Betsy�; a glittery, trashy, star-studded Harold Robbins soap-opera from 1978. I saw this movie with my parents when I was in my teens, and they had no idea just how sleazy it was going to be. I remember my dad taking my glasses away during the (graphic) sex scenes!

When a movie cast includes Laurence Olivier, Tommy Lee Jones, Katharine Ross, Robert Duvall, Lesley-Anne Down, Edward Herrmann, Joseph Wiseman, and Jane Alexander, you figure it�s probably safe to take your fourteen year old daughter, I suppose. But my father, who was a huge devourer of Harold Robbins novels, probably should have known better.

Still, I did manage to get the jist of things, and it left an impression on me, big-time. Mainly, that Tommy Lee Jones was one hunka-hunka-hottie to watch out for in future. Grrr.

My attraction to guys that are realistic-looking, even homely, can be traced back to Tommy Lee Jones in �The Betsy� and Michael Sarrazin in �The Reincarnation of Peter Proud�. No doubt about it.

AND--given where I now make my home, there is the added interest of the assembly line scenes (It�s about cars. And sex.) They were shot at the AMC (American Motors Corporation) plant located in Kenosha--I think it was the old Lakefront Plant. In several shots you can actually catch glimpses of a 1978 Gremlin, Pacer, and Concord being built and painted.

Anyway; Wally�s had it in the DVDs 2-for-$11 dump table, and I snagged it for auld lang syne. I�ll probably curl up in bed with it later.



Right now, though�I think I�ll have some hot tea for my throat, and then lay down for a nap.





Reading: �The Mayor of Casterbridge ", by Thomas Hardy .


Listening: Not today.


Beading: Beaded watchband, which is changing every time I sit down to it.





300-6=294-6=288-4=284-4=280-2=278-4=274-3=271-2.5=268.5-4=264.5-2.5=262-2=260+6=266

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com