rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















damage report
Tuesday, Jan. 04, 2005,

I didn't do too badly through the holiday season.

Although I ate pretty much everything I wanted (and everything I shouldn't) since 12/23/04, and didn't go near a treadmill...6 pounds. That's all. Just six. Smack dab in the middle of the national norm for holiday weight-gain. And what can go on, can come off. Guilt doesn't even enter into it, which is a new feeling for me. And a very welcome one. What is, is.

So--back on the horse today, and I did pretty good. 26.5 minutes, 1 and 1/3 miles, and 178 calories. I'll probably feel it tomorrow, but I did it (fist-pumping the air).

I had to. I could feel those icky-bad feelings trying to creep back. I really don't want to spend January + depressed, so I really had to get back into the gym and take my medicine.



I decided to start the occupational therapy again, too. Last night, I got out my beads and started designing a watchband, in black and silver beads. The watch is silver with black in the chasing, and I've been wanting to do something with it for a while. I think this is going to be nice, if I can get the beading design hammered out.
And again, I really think that the physical therapy (treadmill) + occupational therapy (beads) > psychotherapy when it comes to depression.
My depression, anyway. Can't speak for everyone, and don't want to try.


I'm about halfway through The Mayor of Casterbridge, and I'm enjoying it as a good read. It isn't a light and jolly comic novel, by any means, but I find it far more readable, and contemporary in feel, than many 'classics' of the same vintage. Including others by the same author. Hardy had an amazing grasp of the nature of addiction, and paints a very astute picture of a "dry drunk'; a man who, although abstemious for two decades, never acquires the impulse control that is his root problem. Every time his situation worsens, it is his lack of control that causes the problem. Impulsive, temperamental, and essentially clueless, he is the author of his own downfall, and for some reason, I care.

He is not a likable character, but I care about him for some odd reason, and every time he does something impulsive and stupid, I feel my internal "Oh, Honey--NO!" response going off. I've heard criticism of the story, decrying the many "plot twists" and "coincidences", but these are all there to point up this theme. His actions, rash, ill-considered, un-considered, have immediate and tragic repercussions. A prudent man in his circumstances would not have made these decisions, and would not land in the messes in which Hardy's Henchard finds himself.

Whew! A book report. I don't usually do that.



News and events...
Spouse put an new battery in the retro-rocket this weekend. He also put on a pair of new winter blade wipers, and checked some other stuff, in preparation for the bad weather that is coming our way this week. I love having my own gear-head. But I pay for the parts myself. I don't expect him to do that.

Hey, there's some more news! Bad weather a-comin'. Major snowfall, pretty much from now till Thursday. I'm sure glad my sweetie bought me new snow-boots at Bass Pro Shop last week. They ain't too pretty, but they fit good, and they mean business.

In other news, I bought a new shower curtain yesterday. Yeah, it was waaay overdue. I washed the fabric one and threw away the vinyl liner. It is hard to get excited about doing anything to improve my tragic, mouldering, crumbling bathroom. But sometimes it is just a matter of too much funk.

I got it at the local Wally's. I had to be there, to take back the junk battery and get my core deposit back. In retrospect, I should have waited awhile longer, because January 3rd is a lousy day to be there. Especially if you need the service desk. Too close to Christmas, plus the third day of the month is Social Security check day, PLUS--the 1st was a holiday, and the 2nd was a Sunday. So "Mother's Day" was the 3rd this month. After doing my time at the service desk, and getting my $5.28 back, I scoped around and picked up a few things I wanted/needed. It would have been more than a few, but they were out of a whole lot of stuff. Anyway, the front registers were a mess, and really didn't seem to be moving at all. No one was working ANY of the express lanes, and I really didn't want to be there any more. So I popped back to Electronics, went straight to the cashier, checked out, paid, and booked on outa there. As I passed by the front on my way out the door, I could see that the line I'd been in had not advanced at all. Oh, well. One of the perks of my seven years in hell--I learned a thing or two.



Cripes, I feel like the crap today. Ear-tickly, throat-scratchy, body-achy, flushed and muzzy-headed. Bleah. I think I need to lie down.






Reading: �The Mayor of Casterbridge ", by Thomas Hardy


Listening: "Avenue Q", original cast album


Beading: black and silver beaded watchband





300-6=294-6=288-4=284-4=280-2=278-4=274-3=271-2.5=268.5-4=264.5-2.5=262-2=260+6=266

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com