rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















new coat
Tuesday, Nov. 30, 2004,

Back to work yesterday, with a vengeance. But at long last, we seem to be moving forward, and that is a relief.
I hustled my butt off yesterday, from the time I got up. A full day of pounding the system at work, stops at the lunacy that was the grocery store last night, and then the gas station. Home and straight into making dinner, eating it (penne pasta with meat sauce, garlic bread, tossed salad), and cleaning up the kitchen. By the time I got to sit down and relax, I couldn't keep my eyes open. I ended up going to bed at 8:45.



My team leader is back this week, but she still expects me to be going to meetings and carrying her in the decision and organization departments. And my (real) boss keeps bugging me to do the kind of stuff that he needs done: a) right away, b) RIGHT!, and c) without bothering him about anything. Yesterday, it was to set up the Demo PC for a presentation he's giving a prospective customer. On top of everything else I've got going. Yay.


I finished the bracelet project on Sunday afternoon, but realized afterward that I'd made a mistake on the last stitch. Oh, well. It isn't noticeable, and I'm not re-doing it. Everyone at work thought it rocked--even my (male) boss commented on the increased complexity of my projects. So it is good enough.

My next beading endeavor, unfortunately, will be to fix the purple choker with dangles I made recently. I wanted to wear it yesterday (for the first time!), but it came undone at the clasp before I even got out the door in the morning. So I have to mend it, which may require some re-beading. Shame on me! I'm embarrassed at my shoddy workmanship.

Once that is done, I'll begin the "Hugs and Kisses" pattern bracelet I've got planned. I also have and idea for a new ladder-stitch choker, using teardrops as accents along the lower edge. And a RAW project from the Carol Duvall show I want to try. So I'm well-supplied with projects for the near future, assuming I can find the time, energy, and pain-free hands to do them.



I have a wonderful friend in D. Her post-surgical weight loss has gone well enough to force her to buy a smaller winter coat. So what does she do with her gorgeous $300 black leather car coat that is now too big?

Yep. She gave it to me. And it fits. And it is perfect. I've coveted that coat since she bought it, and I can't freaking believe she gave it to me. I offered to pay her something, but she won't jump. God love her. She's such a gem. Told me if I couldn't wear it, to find someone who could. What a doll!

So, I have a lovely, warm, like-new, perfect winter coat--and good grief, how I needed that! And she brought me a "Mama Mia" angel pin (red ribbon) for my theater collection! (She saw it at the Oriental over the holiday.)

It is so cool to be on the receiving end of a friendship again. I have been on the giving end so long. I have to go all the way back to Voo and Mum for the last time I got to be the 'givee'.













Reading: �Robert Mitchum: Baby, I Don't Care" by Lee Server This book is interesting, but doesn't really seem very 'meaty'. Much about how and what Mitchum was, but the why is missing, and it leaves the book a little flat. Still interesting, but not revealing.


Listening: Christmas and Comedy on XM


Beading: See above--more ideas than time.







recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com