rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















a full and happy weekend
Saturday, Nov. 27, 2004, 3:54 PM

Thanksgiving was very nice; I gave my folks a call in the morning and chatted for a while, and later we went to P&E's for visiting and dinner.

We took several bottles of wine, and my bourbon cake, which turned out extremely well. Everyone really liked it a lot. We ate like kings, of course, thanks to P's marvelous cooking. He surpassed himself. He even picked out a Riesling for me to drink that was fabulous, and I don't even like Riesling! This wasn't syrupy-sweet at all. it had a bright, fruity freshness, and a clean finish. Leave it to P. He is good at what he does.

After dinner, I got roped into playing cards with P, E, and their neighbor Diane, the pilot. Some game called Hand and Foot, which seemed very complicated and gave me a headache. I will never be a card player, I'm afraid...I haven't the temperment for it. But it was kind of fun, because they are such a great group. I got some ideas for Christmas presents, as well.

Papa wasn't feeling well, and it turns out that he'd been scratching his eczema and gave himself an infection. P&E ended up taking him to the emergency room on Thursday night, because they were afraid he had blood poisoning.

Yesterday, we did end up going shopping, but on our own terms, and avoiding the crowds. We went up to the Milwaukee area and did some hobby shopping.

We did Sommerfeld's Trains in Butler, where I bought Spouse a new Milwaukee Road 'Beep" locomotive (late birthday gift)for only $49, and then went to Brookfield so I could go to Midwest Bead & Supply.

WOW! What a great store. The best selection of Delicas I've ever seen, plus tons of venetian, czech glass, seeds, miracle beads, and other great stuff. I got a book of bracelet patterns and some beads to do a couple of the projects in it, and then we stopped at the Sendick's grocery store and did some shopping.

Sendick's is a beautiful store, full of gourmet delights. I think we have another "foodie heaven" in our repertoire! After I stopped at Four Season's Coffee for the best Cafe Mocha I've ever had, we looped back around, and headed to the North side of Milwaukee to Walther's for more train stuff. Spouse got a kit to build a car dealership, and a model of a 1959 Chrylser 300 convertible--the car was marked down on clearance to $5.00. They are so nice there--when the guy who waited on us realized they were out of the kit, he pulled replacement components from about 50 different bins and built the kit himself. What a sweetie! And one of the advantages of going directly to the factory to shop for stuff, too.

We went over to Martino's for Italian Beef sandwiches, and then headed home. By the time we got home, my stomach was in full revolt, and I had a session of squidginess for a couple of hours. After I started feeling better, I made a simple dinner, shake/baking the pork chops and steaming some sweet corn and new potatoes to go with.

I started one of my new projects last night, a bracelet of delicas 4mm firepolish ovals in a delicate lavender-pink tone, using a right-angle weave and crisscross pattern, sort of like a ladder stitch. It is coming along nicely, and has a very sparkly, lacy look. I may give it to Mom for Christmas, if it turns out as well as I hope.

Today has been chock full of housework; Spouse got a wild hair and decided we needed to shampoo the carpets, so we went to the hardware store and rented a Rug Doctor, and really went to town on the rugs. Plus, I've got the usual laundry and kitchen clean-up and bathroom mess to do as well.

Right now, Spouse is downstairs working on his train layout, and I am doing this. And some beading, as well. Time to put those hobby dollars we spent yesterday to good use!
!









Reading: �The Girls--Sappho Goes To Hollywood"by Diana McLellan (This is taking forever!)


Listening: Christmas music on XM (They have four different channels of it)


Beading: Crisscross bracelet, see above.






recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com