rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















bluesday
Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2004,

The incredibly confusing cluster fuck that is work has reached the critical point. It is now so officially fucked up that my mind refuses to have anything to do with it. I have that problem a lot with my brain--it does a preliminary examination of something, and if it is impossible, the brain simply rejects it. Not worth the effort. And since I really can't just hand the developers back their systems and say "this is fucked, come back when you've managed to find your ass with both hands"...well. It is an uphill battle.

This whole oversized, rush-rush, "it's gotta be in by 01-01 whether it works or not" facacta project is DOOMED.



Open enrollment time at work; time once again to see my pitiful e-o-y salary adjustment get swallowed up by increased premiums. My take home will most likely stay the same for the fourth year in a row. It is very possible that it will go down. One more year like this and I won't be able to afford this job. Fucking "Struik".

There are options available that would come to a lower annual dollar amount, but the bottom line is this: I am willing to pay additional amounts to have someone else administrate. I don't have the time or the inclination to spend vast hours sorting out flexi-spend accounts and healthcare savings programs

On the "up" side, however; we now have affordable vision insurance available, which works out to the advantage of Spouse and myself. We are both bespectacled, and would thus take full advantage of the eye care program.
Well, enough work-related kvetching



On to political kvetching.

Nice to know that the Secretary of State will be the bitch-face queen of the universe. The repugs truly have no clue, do they? A woman who is apparently completely unable to keep her displeasure off of her face, and who is an unyielding hard-liner with no intention of changing her mind, negotiating, or making concessions about anything. No tact, no people skills. Perfect! Let's make her the country's top diplomat.

I'm sure the woman knows her shit--never said she didn't. But I am living, breathing proof that you can be intelligent, knowledgeable, well-read, etc. AND BE LOUSY AT DEALING WITH PEOPLE!!!!! Knowing your shit is not the same as being capable of getting your point across without sounding retarded. And it doesn't mean you can work and play well with others, either. Actually, I think she's wrong for the job because of all the ways she's like me.

AND because she's a tool.



Still haven't heard from W.


The cooking frenzy of the weekend is still paying off in leftovers. Last night we did chop suey again, and tonight it is turkey and stuffing revisited. I'm so tired and demoralized from the day I've had at work that I'm glad I don't have to put any actual thought into dinner.

The gray, dark, rainy November weather isn't really helping my spirits, either. I swear I lose IQ points due to lack of sun.


As much as I'd love to sit down and bead tonight, I probably won't do it again until I've been to the bead store. I have tons of stuff at home, but nothing that goes with anything else.
I guess I could always do a spiral, just for the pure relaxation it brings.







Reading: �The Best American Non-Required Reading, 2003", edited by Dave Eggers


Listening: XM, �Comedy 150�


Beading: Trying to get inspired for a new project.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com