rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















Sunday, busy Sunday
Monday, Nov. 15, 2004, 9:03 AM

He didn't make dinner Saturday night, by the way. I did, but my Chop Suey is much inferior to his. But because he wouldn't make it, he's not allowed to complain. He did make breakfast AND dinner on Sunday.
Pancakes and sausage in the morning, roasted turkey, his homemade stuffing, and sweet potatoes for dinner. All very nice. He has this weird craving for turkey right before Thanksgiving, of course. But since we both love it, no big whoop.

Although I confess I got a huge secret giggle out of the fact that he cooked the little plastic bag of giblets in with the bird. OOPS. He's so cute, I didn't have the heart to give him a hard time about it.

I would have enjoyed it more if I didn't have this nasty little intestinal issue. The dog and I both seemed to be suffering from gastritis this weekend, and even though it was low-grade, I've felt yarky for days. Still do. Raj was worse off than I; she was completely miserable, poor pup. She didn't even want any water.



Honestly, I feel like I'm living in the backwoods, with all the critter problems. Spouse finally seems to have resolved the Squirrels in the attic issue, but now they all hang out on the roof and chatter angrily at us when we go out. As do the birds--if you take the dog out and interrupt their feeding, they sit in the trees and hurl invective till you leave them in peace. I was actually chewed out by a frickin' mourning dove yesterday.

And now, the piece-de-resistance--there is a squirrel corpse in my backyard this morning. I took Raji out for her last pee of the morning, and she saw something in the dim light that attracted her like a magnet grabs iron.

Laying there, stretched out under the clothesline, was a squirrel. I got her pulled away, and surveyed it from a short distance. It wasn't moving at all, so it is either dead, or a very convincing actor. I'll have to call Spouse and leave him a voice mail to warn him, so he doesn't let the dog get at it when he gets home. And deals with the damn thing. Eww.



Spouse was pretty good company this weekend. The only thing he did that really got on my nerves was the constant changing of plans thing. As of Friday, the menus and activities of the weekend were planned out, and He changed the menus about four times, and the type and order of the activities about three. I find that moderately annoying, but not so much because I can't stand the changes. It is the fact that he has trouble communicating these changes to me, and that he tends to make these executive decisions without discussion.

But I put up with it, and in the interests of peace, I gave him a lot of leeway.



We ended up going to Trainfest at State Fair Park yesterday, after he'd changed his mind back and forth a few times. Thus, we wound up in Milwaukee TWICE this weekend. But it was a lot of fun; very interesting to see all of the layouts. We got some interesting ideas for scenics. I was even able to get into my 'official train show' shirt again, which pleased me. I love my "Rock Island Rocket sweatshirt", and I'm glad I can wear it again.

The railroad collectibles booth had three of the Fenton covered candy dishes with "Chessie", from the late eighties-early nineties. I'd have loved to get the green one, but they were $85 to $150, and I just couldn't justify that kind of money. Even though two of my hobbies converging like that was almost too much to resist. Although there are some on ebay...

And speaking of hobbies--I actually sat down and beaded this weekend. Finished the eyeglass hanger, and it came out well.

I gave it to my friend D., as she is about the only person (that I care to give anything to) of my acquaintance who doesn't wear her glasses all the time. She seemed pleased with the gift.







Reading: �The Best American Non-Required Reading, 2003", edited by Dave Eggers


Listening: XM, �Frank's Place� (Standards)


Beading: Finished my eyeglass hanger necklace on Saturday night, thus keeping to the vow I took. Trying to get inspired for a new project.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com