rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















mishmash
Monday, Nov. 08, 2004,

Number 1; I just don�t understand how people can eat food that smells like a tire fire first thing in the morning.

Number2; I don�t know how people who are otherwise intelligent and well-educated can be so sublimely unaware of the effect their actions can have on others.

It used to be simple�if smelling food first thing in the morning makes you feel sick, then you avoid it (any food, really, but eggs are the worst. Who decided those smelly bastards were breakfast food, anyway? I can really only stand to smell coffee.). Stay out of the kitchen, stay out of restaurants, stay away from the cafeteria at work. Easy, right? Nope. Not when you work at a location where people are allowed to bring platefuls of stinky eggs to their desks, and shove it practically underneath your nose. Stinky, low-grade eggs with a shovel full of ass-reek salsa dumped on them yet. And then, after beating their teeth and scraping their plates with the flatware, and smacking the food down with their mouths open, they will leave their nasty plates sitting there to fester. If you are LUCKY, they will take them away at lunchtime. If you are LUCKY. Many of these people (blessed as they are with no sense of smell or taste) will stack them up for a week or more before taking them back to the cafeteria. What. A. Bunch. Of. Hogs.

/end rant
Now that I am thoroughly sickened, let�s change the subject.



I had a weird Sunday. Talked to my mom--found out my big brother2 had foot surgery, vacuumed (and then took apart my vac and cleaned the filters), went grocery shopping, stripped beds/washed all the bedding/remade beds, got my period (yeah, those last two go together about the way you�d imagine), made another pot of homemade soup. Spouse made cornbread to go with it. From a mix, but it was from TJ�s and came out very good.


I forgot to mention that we found Advent calendars at TJ�s the other day, for only 99 cents. I got some for the kids. They were traditional in my upbringing, so I love to carry that on where I can. A little thing, but it made me happy.


BLESS YOUR BEAUTIFUL HIDE
(Gene de Paul / Johnny Mercer)
Howard Keel


Bless your beautiful hide, wherever you may be
We ain't met yet but I'm a-willing to bet
You're the gal for me

Bless your beautiful hide
You're just as good as lost
I don't know your name but I'm a-stakin' my claim
Lest your eyes is crossed

Oh, I'd swap my gun and I'd swap my mule
Though whoever took it would be one big fool
Or pay your way through cookin' school
If'n you would say I Do

Bless your beautiful hide, prepare to bend your knee
And take that vow 'cause I'm a-tellin' you now
You're the gal for me

Pretty and trim but kinda slim
Heavenly eyes but, oh, that size
She's gotta be right to be the bride for me
Bless your beautiful hide, wherever you may be

Pretty and trim but not too slim
Heavenly eyes and just the right size
Simple and sweet, and sassy as can be!
Bless her beautiful hide
Yes, she's the gal for me

Howard Keel passed away yesterday. I�m sad, and feel as though we�ve lost another connection to a time when talent could take you places. I loved his voice�

�Bless Your Beautiful Hide�, Howard�this �Sobbin� Woman� hopes that wherever you are now, it�s not �Too Darn Hot�.



I went on a bit about Ian�s political jibes during the show on Thursday, but I did enjoy it tremendously. In no small part, being there with W and T made it worthwhile. In the car on the way back, W happened to mention that there were three albums of Jethro Tull she doesn�t own, and one of them is �This Was�, the debut album. So on Friday, I went to Amazon to see if it was in print. They have a remastered w/bonus tracks version, so I ordered, and am having it sent to them with a thank you note for their friendship in general and the concert in particular.


I am a most superior friend.




Reading: �Dead Water", by Ngaio Marsh


Listening: XM, �On Broadway�


Beading: Not.


recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com