rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















after the show
Friday, Nov. 05, 2004,

I am impressed at how well most of my favorite people are handling the election result. Better than I, it seems. At least on blog pages, diaries, columns, and in conversation. I can�t help how I feel in my heart of hearts, though. And the reason I have a diary is to write down this stuff. Kathy, over at Kitchen Logic, frequently has to remind people in her comments section that it is her diary, and she can say whatever she wants. If people don�t want to read it, they certainly don�t have to. That�s why I don�t have a comments section. If people seriously wanted to slang out at me, they could, I suppose. But I�m not interested in making it easy for them, and I�m not interested in their opinion of my opinion. Good or bad.

Everyone is so philosophical, though. And they are trying to be mindful of the fact that the man was elected this time. Respectful of the process, and of the office. Well, serves me right. That is what I get for associating with intelligent and mature, grown-up types.

I am trying, too�but it will not be easy, or quick.



Ian Anderson was being the total prick about �Loser Liberals� onstage last night, and it was pissing me off. And I don�t appreciate having to listen to him rag on about the great Reagan and Thatcher and Bush ad infinitum, and then slam Springsteen for having outspoken political opinions. Hello, POT?!

And no matter what big conservative pricks Ian, Andrew, and Martin can be, Doane is our sweet liberal holdout. And as he is the American, it doesn�t really matter about the rest, now does it? It is easy to support evil when it isn�t subverting YOUR freedoms, eh? When its role is limited to fighting (and paying for) your wars for you? Given Anderson�s history of supporting the environment, though�it still seems a bit odd.

One important thing, Ian. When you get up in the mornings on tour, figure out what state your playing in and check the electoral map. If it was BLUE, you might want to shit-can the trash-talk for that evening�s concert. Know your audience. Just a thought.

Other than that, I have to say the Tull concert was great. Everyone was playing well, looking well, and seemed to be enjoying themselves. They did a mostly-acoustic first set, and played a lot of older and more obscure stuff. Which, of course, is perfectly fine with W and me. We eat it with a spoon, baby. Then, after the break, they came out and did the �stuff to make your ears bleed�, as Ian called it. Some old, some new, a lot of jamming on the bridges, and loads of flute, pennywhistle, piccolo, and harmonica laced throughout.

Two tight hours (including the 2 encores), with �Aqualung� as the closer, and �Wind-Up� and �Locomotive Breath� when they came back out for their encores. Ian has done a lot to accommodate his more limited voice range and still keep the songs interesting and thoughtful. They still play the most intense, intricate, and intoxicating music in Rock. And play it brilliantly.

In the end, no matter how he infuriates me�all he has to do is pick up his flute--and his foot--and he owns me.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com