rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















mixed; nuts
Thursday, Nov. 04, 2004, 5:36 AM

Work is huge, Spouse has been out of town a lot, We got the new furnace installed, I'm getting dental work done, I've been making an effort to work out regularly, and I have been doing voter registration assistance in my spare (?!!?) time. I�m pooped�and no end in sight.

Yesterday, I had a loooong day at work, which included meetings with obtuse developers, my final appraisal (3.8 out of a possible 4.0, but 4.0 is what you need for a promotion, so�fucked again, essentially.) and a boss who followed me to lunch (yak-yak-yak), therefore depriving me of my precious half-hour of peace and quiet. And then I had write the future aspirations and comments portion of my appraisal, which is the kind of bullshit double-talk I absolutely hate to compose. That gave me a bad headache.

On the way home, I stopped and got stuff for dinner. Then home to cook it, do laundry, serve and eat dinner, dishes and cleanup, more laundry, assorted pottering, walk the dog, and bed. The best part of the day was Raji in a very cuddlesome mood. She sat in my lap for quite awhile early in the evening, and then crawled into bed and cuddle me to sleep later. I think she knew I was stressed and was trying to help. She did.

Today will be a long haul. Work, loony-bin that it is, where the situation will be made worse by having to cover for my team leader�she�s out AGAIN. Then rush home, clean up and change to jeans and a hoodie for the concert. W and T are picking me up at 5:30, and off to Milwaukee for Jethro Tull. I�m hoping we will have the time and opportunity to squeeze in a meal before the show. After, we have to drive home, and I have to try and grab a little sleep before getting up for work tomorrow. And after work tomorrow, I have the first appointment for my casting (partial denture).

If you are getting fitted for false teeth the day after a concert, you are probably getting a little too old to go to concerts.



I guess I was not alone in remarking the grabby-hands trend in trick-or-treaters. A lot of other people noticed it too. The Backfence mentions it, and I read several posts on Fark saying the same thing. Sad, really.


I got public opinion polled regarding campaign ads and election issues last night. The guy was really nice, and sounded more like a college student than the usual survey-takers that call me. He wanted to know about call and mail volume in the two weeks before the election, so I was glad I�d kept track. They also asked my opinions about Kerry and the other guy, with choices from very favorable to very unfavorable. Kerry got �somewhat favorable�, and I don�t think I have to say what the other guy got.


Spouse booked us a trip for over our Christmas break�3 days at Green Valley. He wants to make that the destination, and not even go into town while we are there. Fine with me. The pool is heated and open all winter, they have a really nice spa, and plenty of good restaurants, from pancakes to Fatburgers to sushi to gourmet. Plus gambling and shopping and movies. And beds with pillow-top mattresses, high thread-count sheets, and down comforters. Sigh. I feel more relaxed just thinking about it.


Reading: �Scales of Justice", by Ngaio Marsh


Listening: XM, �Seventies on Seven�. Eclectic collection of 70�s music


Beading: Not actually beading. Too busy right now.



recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com