rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















I've got competition.
Monday, Oct. 25, 2004, 7:04 PM

Every day is going to hurt, for a while. I know this, I accept this, and I will work through this.

I have to, because in spite of his bad habits and lack of discipline, Spouse has his weight down below mine!!!!

When I talked to him yesterday, he mentioned that the company he�s visiting had a Dr.�s scale, so he weighed himself out of curiosity. What he saw made him get off, check the scale�s accuracy, and get back on. 269!!

And with steel-toe workboots on, yet. The rat.

The good news is, I think he�s feeling competitive. SO, evil mastermind that I am, I plan on encouraging the competition. It means he will be easier for me to diet around, because we are both working it. And that will be good for his health, and for mine. He had mentioned on Friday that he�d needed to put another hole in his work belt, and I�ve been telling him for a while that he needs new jeans, in a smaller size. He�s the Incredible Assless Man anyway, but lately it looks like he�s standing in a blue denim sack.

I made a chart for my workouts, just to keep track of my progress. Not the weight, so much. But how fast, how far, how long�and how many calories burned. I know that it will be cool to see my time and speed and distance increase over time. I can�t help it. My critical bent wants to see results, but my analytical bent insists on keeping records to determine just how the result were arrived at.

Anyway, tonight was a take it easy night, because I pushed hard over the weekend with 2 sessions a day. I did a fifteen minute half-mile, and called it square. I considered slacking off all together, but I really want to cultivate the habit.



When I went downstairs to work out yesterday, I felt the need for music, so I got out the old 1980�s vintage stereo and my Rubbermaid tote full of cassettes. I decided to listen to my old dub of the The Complete Symphonic Recording of Les Miserables.

Specifically, the middle of the show�which is the second of my three cassettes. Interesting to note: �Do You Hear the People Sing?� is the perfect tempo for my cool-down period. I was practically marching to the music. The only problem is I really don�t have enough wind to sing AND exercise at the same time, but I can�t help singing along. Curse you, Boublil and Schonberg! (and Kretzmer). You and your incredibly sing-able show. I haven't listened for a long time, but I still enjoy it tremendously.



WARNING: BROKEN RECORD AHEAD.

The problem with what is currently expected of me at work is very troubling. I don�t know how to get it resolved. What it boils down to is this: I am expected to perform my work one job (pay) level above my current one, AND I am expected to do most of my supervisor�s work, as well as my own, AND I am expected to eat this particular shit and like it. Thank you, sir, may I have another. And so on.

This is, of course, compounded by the fact that my supervisor got the job INSTEAD of me, and the promotion and raise that came along with it. But as I said, I am the one who is expected to do the work. The work for which she�s being rewarded.

And by the fact that I am expected to do the job without any tools. All the incoming information goes to her, but because she�s chronically disorganized, it is never passed on to anyone else on the team. So I am supposed to make the decisions and perform the work based on information I am apparently not allowed to have. And do it right. And for criminy�s sake, whatever you do, don�t forget to SMILE!



I left my machine on today, and I had five messages when I got home. Three were political recordings. All I have to do is invent a machine to vote for me. That way, their machines can call my machine to campaign, and then, come election day, my voting machine can go to the polls and cast it�s vote--on their voting machines. Remove humans from the equation altogether. The humans aren�t doing a very good job these days, so we might as well.

Or, we could let it keep going to the dogs, I guess. The guy from moveon.org who stopped by yesterday was of that mind. He brought along his adorable, four-month-old, Shepherd mix puppy. Now there is a great way to get your foot in the door!

He didn�t have a lot to say to me, since he could see by the yard signs and bumper stickers that he was preaching to the choir. But he asked why I was against Bush. Foreign policy, economic policy, and domestic policy/civil rights. I do not agree with the current administration on any of those. And since their policy seems to be to forbid that with which they do not agree, I say they need to go.

Freedom of choice. It�s not just about abortion anymore. I can�t pick sides based on the taxation issue, because the libs want to tax everybody, and the cons just want to tax ME. So I have to base my decision on other issues.

Enough politics for one day.


Reading: �Alfred Hitchcock�s Mystery Magazine", �BeadStyle Magazine


Listening: not much of anything.


Beading: Reading about beading, but not actually beading. (Still haven�t finished the eyeglass-hanger necklace.)


recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com