rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















time to ease up
Monday, Oct. 04, 2004,

Don�t know if I�m even going to get to post this, as Diaryland is having some problems today, but here goes.


Well, I may slow the diet down for a while. I�ve reached my 25 lb. Goal (26 lbs actually), and am ready to up the calorie intake to about 2000 a day to let my metabolism reset itself. I�m able to buy clothes again, so that is a happy place to be. And If I buy new stuff, I want to be able to wear it for a while before I have to replace it.

Just when I think that this town and the people in it can�t get anymore effed up, I am schooled yet again by local business practices. Spouse and I, having set it up with a local company, have been expecting our new gutters any time now for the last two weeks. No one has shown up.
So I try to call them on Saturday, and get a message that they are only open M-F, 7am to 11am. (Yeah�WTF?)
So I call today, within hours. I ask the lady when we can expect the workmen, and she puts me on hold for a minute, before returning with this announcement: �Well, you are #10 out of 21.� Yes, she says this as if it would have some meaning for me. Which, of course, it does not. I politely ask her to translate this to a time frame. This she declines to do, but she gives me the tools to figure out very roughly what the time frame would be:
They work M-F
Of the 9 jobs before ours, 3 have soffet and fascia work
Soffet and fascia work means a three day job
Gutters alone are a 1 day job
Everything is subject to the weather.
I feel like I�m doing one of those logic puzzles in EQMM.
SO: 3 x 3-days = 9 days, + 6 x 1-day = 15 days, / 5 day week, = 3 weeks. IF. IF the weather is perfect for each of those 15 working days.
Three weeks at the very earliest. From now. FIVE weeks from when we hired them. Excuse me. When we hired them because they are the most professional gutter company in town.
The frosting on this particular cupcake, though, would be the fact that this woman actually told me, and expected me to believe, that there are customers who arrange for gutters, who do not CARE when the work is done. Who would NOT CARE if the work wasn�t done till Spring.
Well, I suppose that once you are used to hiring local contractors in this town, you are just pathetically grateful that these people deign to help you at all. You would know better than to expect anything in the way of prompt-or timely-or this frickin� fiscal year! service.

.
.
.

Reading: �My Grandfather's Finger� by Edward Swift


Music: XM, 50's and 60's


Beading: No Current Project


300-6=294-6=288-4=284-4=280-2=278-4=274


recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com