rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















HOW long?!
Thursday, Sept. 30, 2004, 6:11 PM


��If the Rathergate tale taught us anything, it�s that ordinary people could blow ten-foot holes in the Good Ship CBS simply by comparing their knowledge to the manifest ignorance of the news division�s producers.� ~James Lileks







Well, the good news is: I still seem to have internet access at work. For now. Maybe they decided to let the techies keep it.

The gut-punch bad news is my company is going to be dropped by a major client. I�m talking MAJOR client. �They are a division unto themselves� major. As of 01/01/05, we are losing a frightfully enormous chunk of business. So I�m sure that belts will be worn much tighter for �05.




Well, I set up the alarm for 4:53, but I still didn�t want to get up this morning. The damn thing is, even after I took Benadryl, I still couldn�t get to sleep for almost an hour. I just couldn�t get warm. It has been close to freezing at night. I laid there for awhile but the bed never got warmer. I finally had to get up, put on my robe, and go back to bed. And it still didn�t get me out of the house any earlier. So that sucked.



I have so much to do tomorrow, I can�t stand the thought of it. I have to renew my driving licence, my car needs an oil change and a good wash, and I desperately need a haircut and brow wax. Plus, I have to do the usual scramble to find Prilosec, along with getting my other meds re-stocked. Some of it will just have to wait till Saturday, but between the DMV�s hours, my hairdresser�s hours, and the usual Saturday line at the oil center, I�m damned if I know what to put off.




I forgot to mention in last night�s post, I stopped at Walgreens on the way home to pick up a card, paper, and a bow for W�s birthday gift. SEVEN DOLLARS AND TWENTY_ONE CENTS. For a small roll of paper, a plain card, and a curly ribbon bow.
Duckin� rificulous.

Anyway, I also wrapped her gift last night. I actually did what is probably the best job I�ve ever done wrapping a gift. It took me twenty minutes, but hey--when you spent approximately 25% of the price of the gift on the wrappings, you don�t intend for it to look like shit.

I gotta go over there after bit; wish her a happy-happy and take her mind off the fact that her mother insured W would never forget her by dying on her birthday. (Well, her dad had already used up the Fourth of July.) But I�m so tired I�m ready to cry. I may have to stop for a coke or something. But then I won�t sleep. Oh, well, what the fuck. If I was meant to get adequate sleep, I wouldn�t have been born a woman.

Final thought for the day: 21 years ago tonight, I had my first (blind) date with a guy my little brother set me up with. God, I looked hot in my tailored pants, tuxedo shirt, and black fedora. We went for pizza and a movie. Risky Business�anyway, I sure miss that guy tonight.

I wish he didn�t have to be in Idaho.
I love you, my Scooter-Pie. Since the minute I laid eyes on you.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com