rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















clothes and beads, mostly. and more hating on Spouse
Tuesday, Sept. 21, 2004,

Okay, I�ll admit that the orchard wasn�t that bad. Kind of fun, actually. Fresh hot cinnamon donuts and cold cider�now that�s my time of year! We got some very good ham and smoked cheddar from the smoke house, and half a peck of Gala apples. It is still a little early for some of my favorite apples, so we�ll probably run out to our other favorite orchard in early October, so I can get some of the fantastic heirloom apples they grow. I�m looking forward to that Orchard run, because they have both the oldest varieties grown, and the newest experimentals from Cornell. They run the gamut of apple history.

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

I was a little crabby last night, because Spouse forgot to get anything for dinner after he offered to stop at the butcher�s on the way home. I told him that I don�t mind so much that he doesn�t do anything; it�s the fact that he says he�s going to, and then doesn�t that pisses me off. If you�re not going to do it, just don�t say you�ll do it. Good intentions that are not followed through are just annoying. He apologized (Big whoop. His apologies mean about as much as his promises.) and got dinner from SRO. I can get char-grilled chicken and yellowfin from there, so I was okay with it. But he�s got a bad habit of ordering out, and most places in this town can�t provide a healthy takeout selection.

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

After my weekend of eating rather freely, I am back on track and keeping faithful. When I shopping Saturday morning, I had to get new pants. My old ones are just too baggy, and I had to go down in size. I�m extremely pleased to be in a 22/24. I was able to get my favorite easy-care slacks for work, in three colors. Navy, grey, and brown�needless to say, the black was sold out. As the official uniform color for women of size, they go uber-fast. You practically have to meet the truck to get a pair.

I would love to get the pinks and purples back in my wardrobe, but I just can�t find anything out there in my size. I also need new sweaters for the winter; I suppose I�ll have to start hunting.

It would be so much easier if I liked shopping for clothes. And spending money on them.

Note to Self: I do have to remember to return that one brown shirt I bought that is too big soon, though, if I want to get another in my size.

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

After I did my evening chores, including the long-put-off task of replacing the curtains in the living room, I pottered on the computer a bit and then did some beading. As I suspected, I picked apart the choker and began again in the pattern variation. I like it much better this way. Now I just have to find an outfit to wear it with!

I haven�t given up on the other necklace I started, but I�m struggling. What I�m after is a multi-strand, loosely braided, and with a few catch beads. I have faux (translation: plastic) stone chips in agate, jade, coral, ivory, carnelian, and amber. For catch beads, I have large metal-toned plastic beads in copper.

My problem is how to string them�do I want a clasp, or a stretchy necklace I can pull on? If I want a catch, what type? And can I get it in copper? I need to go to the bead store and see what she has. And since this is just a fun piece, in plastic, I don�t want to spend a lot on the clasp.

Maybe if I can�t do a copper clasp, I�ll go the stretchy route. I guess it�s still working itself out in the back of my brain.

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

As I mentioned above, I finally replaced the curtains in the living room. I purchased new ones last spring, but was holding out for the chance to do it right--wash the windows and the valances, re-paint the room. But the rags at the window just kept getting rattier, and shabbier, and dirtier, and Raji had them so tattered that they were just dirty shreds in spots. She was actually getting entangled in them and hurting herself at this point. So I pulled the bag of new curtains out of the closet, and just did it. Shocked the Spouse a bit. But I couldn't take it anymore.

I am not really a patient person, you know. Spouse may think that I get more impatient when I'm on a diet, but a closer analysis would reveal that: A) What he percieves as patience is really depression-induced apathy, and B) the absence of depression, and thus, the absence of apathy, is what gets me onto a diet. He prefers me depressed. I know that. It is easier on him. And he has no problem with me facing a potentially lethal problem, as long as it's easier on him.

You know, come to think of it, I apparently like him better when I'm depressed, too.

.

.

.

.

.

Reading: �The Woman Who Walked Into Doors� by Roddy Doyle (the author of �The Barrytown Trilogy�)

Music: Sondheim; �A Little Night Music�

Beading: Victorian choker, in soft purples.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com