rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















how NOT to make it up to me
Monday, Sept. 20, 2004,

Sunday, I could tell he was trying to make up for Saturday. But on his terms�always on his terms. I mean, to make it up to someone, you should do what they want to do, right? Well, I really didn�t feel like doing anything but curling up in a ball and dying, since it was day two (the worst day) of my monthly hell week. But we picked up Nephew and went to the orchard, because Spouse thought that that would make me feel better about Saturday. WTF? Yeah. Wait until I need a bathroom every half-hour, and then take me for a long car trip, to a place where the bathrooms are porta-potties full of bees. That�s gonna cheer me up.

At least we were home by 1:30. I put a pot roast and veggies in, and chilled the rest of the day.

I popped �My Man Godfrey� in the DVD player last night, and started to think about the necklace I was laying out. I decided I didn�t like it, and so I started another Victorian choker. But I didn�t get very far before I decided I didn�t like that, either. I�m still going to make it, but I decided to do it a little differently, so I�ll pick it apart tonight, and start over. This one is in soft purples�dark purple bicones, in a very smoky shade, and seed beads in a lavender with the same value. My idea for this one is to just do the bicones every other stitch, and do the remaining stitches with 3 seeds, instead of one bicone. It will look a little more lacy and delicate than a bicone in every stitch.

I did manage to get to Michael�s on Saturday morning, right before the whole day turned to shit. And it was half-off on Westrim Value Paks. Which is a mixed blessing, because on the one hand: Half Off! But on the other hand, Shopped to Death! They were out of a lot of the findings, but I managed to get most of what I needed. I was hurting for findings, especially for earrings. Get what you can at the chain store and save money, I always say. I still ended up spending $34.00. Oh, and I got one of those electric candle-warmer things for $3.33. The cheapest I�ve ever seen them. It doesn�t work well with the $25 candle, though�the glass bottom is too thick on that one. And it melted the glade candle in less than an hour. I think you�re supposed to use them with big jar candles, like Yankees, or something.

I sent W an email last week, asking what she wanted for a b-day gift��unwrappy� type, or �night out� type. I waited a week, and then bought her a gift. Whereupon, she finally replied, and opted for night out. Sigh. But because she�s wonderfully worth it , and since I know she�s spending a chunk on my birthday (hello!�Jethro Tull!), she�ll get both.

I got her a great new task light for her beading and other crafts. She�s been using an old gooseneck floor lamp from the forties that doesn�t even have a shade. The lamp I bought is supposed to be close to natural sunlight, and has a high and a low setting for glare control, as well as a flex neck for easy aiming. I think she�ll like it. Spouse got one for himself, to replace his old bed light, and he really likes it. The old �over-the-headboard� reading light won�t fit on his new bed, so he needed a new one.

Reading: �Merchant of Venus� by Ellen Hart (another Jane Lawless)

Music: Satellite Radio, still show tunes, mostly.

Beading: Started laying out a new necklace, didn�t like it. Changed to another Victorian choker, in soft purples.

300-6=294-6=288-4=284-4=280

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com