rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















Saturday from hell, Pt 2
Monday, Sept. 20, 2004,

So we get home, and (finally!) start cleaning. Now, I knew that our cleaning styles were going to clash as soon as we set to work�as in I seriously clean, and he half-ass cleans. But the two of us, cleaning like crazy, manage to get it done in a little over two hours. That includes getting the old bed out.

Hot, sweaty, dirty, crampy, exhausted�but not done yet. Have to put together the new bed.

Oh, Lord.

It took another two hours, two people, two phone calls to the furniture store, and a drive back there to get the right sized parts, before that bed was together.

Oh, and that (expletive deleted) I married broke it. Did I mention that? Bucking bulling and forcing and yanking it around, trying to pound it together with a crescent wrench, he managed to pull headboard over, and it came crashing down, getting broken, dented, and generally banged up in the process.

The Brand. New. Headboard.

Well, he ought to feel right at home in it now, since it looks like a secondhand piece of junk off a trash-heap, just like he grew up with.

So then we�ve got everything done, and during all this I�ve been doing the regular week�s wash, plus all the bedding, and the curtains, and the skirt off the night table, and I�m just beyond beat.

Hot, sweaty, dirty, crampy, exhausted.

But not done yet.

Let�s go shopping!

He needs a new rug, and a new lamp. And a good smelling candle.

A good smelling candle. Heh.

I�d told him about Weet buying this candle at BBW, that smelled like firewood. So he wanted one. I said, it�s BBW, so it�s gonna be expensive. Little did I know.

We go, they have it, he grabs it, the girl rings it up�

It�s $25.00.

IT IS A TWENTY-FIVE DOLLAR CANDLE!!!!!!!!!!

He bought it anyway. Hey�it smells like firewood, man!!

The lamp he bought was only $29.00.

We stopped at the store for something for dinner. After that day? What else?

I hit the Ben and Jerry�s. Chocolate Fudge Brownie.

And I'd do it again....

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com